For Nannies & Babysitters

Open Jobs

PART TIME BABYSITTER: Westchester, $25/hour FLEX SCHEDULE, 20 hours/week guaranteed, with two kids 1 and 11, and another caregiver! kPTAD4319

Apply Now

Overview

Are you looking to create a schedule around your other pursuits?! Are you patient, fun, and experienced with toddler and school aged kids?! Do you want to flex your educational background?! A lovely new family in Westchester (Briarcliff Manor) is looking for a new sitter to add into the mix to assist their current full-time nanny with their two kids, 1 and 11 years old. They are looking for someone smart, energetic, patient, and proactive to join their team. A background in education or special needs is a plus! It's $@5/hour gross for 20 hours/week guaranteed. The position will begin as soon as they find the right fit.

The Ideal Sitter for this Job

Experience with special needs is a huge plus! If working alongside the current nanny, they would like be only with the boy, but should be comfortable with working with her independently. A knowledge of sign language is a plus. Someone with a lot of patience and understand is required as well. An interest in education or the arts is ideal as they can likely connect with the girl more. Someone who is firm, but flexible and able to think around corners is also paramount. They really want to focus on the kids' forming a relationship and helping the girl to form appropriate behaviors with her brother. Someone highly vigilant is required.

Schedule

The family is open to creating a schedule around their new sitter. They are happy to guarantee 20 hours/week as it works best for the sitter. Flexibility to come in the mornings is a plus!

About the Children

boy, 1- He is in daycare 3 days/week. He is really fun and active. girl, 11- She was born quite prematurely and has special needs. She is deaf and communicates through sign language. She has compromised vision and walks with orthotics. She has behavioral issues. She has a 24-hour nurse. She is really lovely and requires more patience and understanding.

Responsibilities

They will occasionally be working with another nanny and the older girl's nurse. They will typically help with the boy who is in school 3 mornings/week. They will care for him throughout the day, going to a playground or taking walks around the neighborhood, and help with naps, his meals, and changing diapers, etc. At 3 PM, the older girl's nurse comes and helps to prep food for the kids ahead of her arrival home shortly after. The nurse helps with some of her homework and gives her a bath, yet they always try to encourage her to be as independent as possible. The sitter will help to manage the afternoons and evenings all together amongst everyone as well, often guiding the nurse with the girl as well while they have the boy. The parents arrive home at 7 PM. They have a car for the sitter to use and ideally someone would have a driver's license. This is a plus and would help them a lot, but isn't required.

  • Rate

    $25/hour gross

    Commitment

    through at least June 2019, ideally longer

    Total Hours per Week

    20 hours/week guaranteed

    Apply Now

© 2019 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.