For Nannies & Babysitters

Open Jobs

AFTER SCHOOL: $20-25/hour, Brooklyn Heights, 20+ hours/week with two kids, ages 5 and 7 (cASCM050119)

Apply Now

Overview

This laid-back Brooklyn family is looking for a new afternoon sitter to hang out with their two kids, ages 5 and 7! The parents are in the process of getting divorced, so they are looking for someone who is comfortable working between two homes (only a few blocks apart). The position starts the week after the 4th of July - please apply if you think you'll be the perfect fit!

The Ideal Sitter for this Job

They’re transitioning out of a full-time nanny. Someone that can jump in and take a bit of ownership will be huge for this family. The parents both work quite a lot, so someone that can help orchestrate some playdates would be good! Active and proactive is a MUST. Kind, open, warm manner with the children. Someone who is creative, engaging, and constantly talking! Really great at helping the children negotiate situations, if something comes up at school or the playground. Someone who is super present!!

Schedule

Monday - Thursday, 2-7pm, with some flexibility to stay later as needed

About the Children

They’re both active, and love music and art. They love each other, and get along well, but of course can need some private time occasionally. girl, 1st grade: does dance! boy, 3rd grade: has some occupational therapy (has grown out of a lot of it)

Responsibilities

Pick up is at 2:30 and they go to school down the road. They have different activities and playdates throughout the week. Some transit on the subway may be involved, should only be a 15 minute train ride, max! A bit of shuffling around is involved for all the various activities! Homework help is must, they really just need someone to help keep them on track. For dinner - something simple! The kids like hot dogs, burgers, mac and cheese, chicken, etc. If you like to cook, that's a bonus! Then it's time to shower and ready for bed by the time mom or dad get home! Mom and dad are separated, but the kids stay in one home for now. “Bird nesting” - they will be transitioning to two homes at some point over the summer. The family doesn’t love to punish, and they would always rather explain what's going on to the children!

Additional Information

This position has a flexible start date of August 5th!

  • Rate

    $20-25/hour

    Commitment

    6+ months, and ideally longer!

    Total Hours per Week

    20+

    Apply Now

© 2019 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.