For Nannies & Babysitters

Open Jobs

PART TIME BABYSITTER: Park Slope, $25/hour for 25 hours/week GUARANTEED, plus metrocard, with two kids, 8 & 10! kPTKG52019

Apply Now

Overview

We have a wonderful veteran family in Park Slope looking for a new SmartSitter to assist with the afternoon routine. They are looking for help Monday to Friday, from 2-7 PM, with their two kids, 10 and 8. Their ideal sitter is a creative type who is interested in exploring the kids interests with them and teaching them about their own interests. It's $25/hour gross, plus reimbursement for travel with the kids, 25 hours/week GUARANTEED. This position will begin 8/19. They are here weeks of 7/8 and 7/15 to trial and will meet with candidate before this!

The Ideal Sitter for this Job

Ideally, someone who is interested art and/or music, and can share that interest and experience with the kids. Someone comfortable following the kid's interests as well! They would love for the kids to be able to learn Spanish, so fluency in that language and willingness to being the kids along in it would be a huge plus. Someone who shares the family's approach in managing behaviors in a positive way, talking things through with them, and trying never to be negative with them. Absolute comfortable with meal prep. They do Hello Fresh for the kids and this has been so great! Reliability, timeliness, and a team player is so important. Someone kind, warm, and understanding will be best for them while they all make the transition together!

Schedule

The core schedule is Monday to Friday, from 2-7 PM. Flexibility to help with full days and to stay late on occasion, too! 25 hours/week GUARANTEED

About the Children

boy, 10- He enjoys learning about music and playing the drums, and loves anything related to computers and is beginning to learn coding. He loves goofing off with his friends from school, but is attentive to other's feelings and asks a lot of questions about what makes people tick. He can sometimes get anxious, especially during transitions such as this coming fall. He wants to understand what is coming next, and sometime needs a little break when things get too busy or intense. girl, 8- She loves arts and crafts, especially making slime. She has a love for gymnastics, and has spent many hours working on her handstands and roundoffs. She has taken dance class for the last several years, and loved that as well. She has really taken off academically in Rome, and has been reading more and more. They are thick as thieves and get along so well. They don't need to be scheduled too much to have fun. They love to have space to explore and enjoy themselves in a relaxed way, too. They have picked up a bit of Italian since being in Rome, too! They do struggle with some transitions and really love their current sitter.

Responsibilities

In the summer, they will help with camp drop offs and pick ups. In the school year, the sitter picks the kids up at school at 2:20 PM, and three days of the week the kids have after school activities accessible by subway. They are either at the same place, or close enough to walk from one to the other. Then, the sitter brings them home and prepares a simple dinner for them to eat. Once or twice a week, it is bath night. Sometimes that can start before the parents get home, sometimes not. Assisting with more PA work for the kids like scheduling appointments, grocery shopping, meal prep like Hello Fresh, and scheduling appointments for the family's home repairs, etc.

  • Rate

    $25/hour gross, plus a monthly metrocard

    Commitment

    through the 2019-2020 school year and ideally longer.

    Total Hours per Week

    25 hours/week guaranteed

    Apply Now

© 2019 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.