For Nannies & Babysitters

Open Jobs

PART TIME BABYSITTER: Brooklyn Heights/Bed Stuy, $25/hour for 30 hours/week, plus metrocard and PTO, with an 8-year-old boy! kASVU91019

Apply Now

Overview

This lovely SmartFamily has been in our network for several years and they are looking to hire a new SmartSitter to care for their active, bright 8-year-old boy. The regular schedule is Monday through Friday, 2:20 PM - 8:20 PM, and extra scheduling flexibility is huge for them. Mom and dad are separated, mom is in Bed Stuy and dad is in Prospect Heights, and so the position will be in one locale or the other depending on the day. Ultimately, they are looking for someone reliable, warm, engaging, communicative, and looking to make a long-term commitment of at least one year upfront. They really bond with all of their sitters and often become their biggest supporters, so it is not an opportunity to be missed! It's $25/hour gross for 30 hours/week, plus a monthly metrocard and PTO. The current SmartSitter is with the family until the end of September, and the family would love there to be a little overlap so she can show you the ropes! Please apply today if you're interested.

The Ideal Sitter for this Job

The ideal candidate would be easygoing, engaging, super energetic, experienced with this age, and enjoy the outdoors. The family is looking for someone to take initiative, someone who is loving, creative, warm, and a knowledge of Brooklyn Heights and Bed Stuy is a plus. He needs someone mentally engaging with him. He reads well above his grade level, so someone who can mentally stimulate him is super important. Lastly, it's helpful if you are flexible and understand you'll be working with two households and may be assisting with a household task such as laundry for the boy, picking up a fe groceries, unpacking an order that comes in the mail, etc. They are truly looking for a third set of hands to help out and be an extension of mom and dad.

Schedule

The core schedule is Monday to Friday, from 2:20-8:20 PM. Flexibility to assist additionally for full days or later in the evenings is paramount!

About the Children

boy, age 8- He loves to read, he's a highly attuned, mentally active child. He loves to run, jump, tackle, throw balls, ride his scooter and be outdoors, and he also is a voracious reader, sitting quietly for seemingly endless book sessions. He loves to dance and play music and is a big fan of trains and trucks. He’s boisterous, smart, and sweet. He’s very curious. He likes word games and number puzzles and the science museum and the Natural History Museum.

Responsibilities

School pick up at 2:20 PM in Brooklyn Heights, reading, educational games, going to and from after school activities, simple meal prep, clean up dishes/kitchen, help with groceries for the family and laundry for the little guy. There will also be some help with more household tasks such as picking up some groceries, assisting with the boy's laundry, light tidying at the end of the day, and really being a proactive and helping hand for the family!

  • Rate

    $25/hour gross, plus a monthly metrocard

    Commitment

    at least one year, ideally longer

    Total Hours per Week

    30 hours/week guaranteed

    Apply Now

© 2019 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.