Learn How SmartSitting is Handling Child Care During COVID-19 ›

For Nannies & Babysitters

Open Jobs

PART TIME BABYSITTER: Chinatown, $25-30/hour for 30 hours/week, MTW, with boy, 2! kPTSL13020

Apply Now

Overview

Are you looking for a new position downtown for three full days/week?! Do you love working with toddlers?! Do you thrive on freedom within a boundary and implementing plans and strategies?! A family in Chinatown is looking for a new sitter to join their team and spend a few full days with their adorable almost-2-year-old. He doe speech therapy and PT as part of his early intervention therapies, so someone with a background in this are or a willingness to learn, communicate, and implement the strategies is paramount. He is generally fun and super lovable little guy. It's $25-30/hour gross (DOE) for 30 hours/week, plus a monthly metrocard and 2 weeks PTO if making a long-term commitment. This position will begin in March to overlap with their current nanny.

The Ideal Sitter for this Job

They are really looking for a long-term connection with a new sitter. Someone who has a lot of toddler experience and is organized (mom admittedly isn't the most organized person and really values this in her person!). Someone who loves to read books as he is super into reading. He can easily read 15 a day! Someone who can help with this and learning. Someone who has a speech therapy background would be a plus, through someone who can follow their plan and implement the structure is ideal. Someone who likes to play and act out stuff. Helping with his gross motor skills by dancing and moving is huge! A consistent, reliable, and dependable sitter who can be communicative. While mom cooks most of his meals, someone who comfortable and has experience with cooking for kids is great! They would love if someone was open to researching classes as he loves to learn and they want to foster this love. Mom is a pretty flexible person and really loves to learn from her sitters, so having someone who is self sufficient and can work with mom to find the right path for their son is most ideal for them. They are open to learning and changing things if it's the best for him! They see it as a collaborative process.

Schedule

The schedule is Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday, from 8-6 PM. Flexibility to assist later on occasion is a plus. They can in turn be somewhat flexible even with the days of the week.

About the Children

boy, almost 2- He is really cute kid. He is in early intervention for speech delays. He also does PT as he was late to walk. He may have delayed motor planning, though he is walking and has really high reception. They do baby research studies and have really wonderful assessments. He is cognitively advanced and can give you verbal cues for a lot of things. He often reminds his mom or nanny about the next steps of the routine. He is very observant and present in the moment. He is happy and confident little guy. They are in the middle of preschool interviews, so he might be in a two's program in September that would have him in the mornings.

Responsibilities

Arriving at 8 AM, and tidying up from breakfast and playing in and outside. He has a snack and then they play. he has lunch and naps after for about an 1-2.5 hours. He has another snack and they go out. He has dinner and then mom is home! And throughout the day, depending on the day, they stay in for speech and go out for PT. The sitter will have full charge of this schedule.

Additional Information

They have cameras in the common areas (though they admittedly never use them and they are covered by toys most of the time), and have a baby monitor in his room.

  • Rate

    $$25-30/hour gross, DOE. Plus a monthly metrocard and two-weeks PTO.

    Commitment

    through at least June 2020

    Total Hours per Week

    30 hours/week guaranteed

    Apply Now

© 2020 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.