For Nannies & Babysitters

Open Jobs

PART TIME BABYSITTER: Gowanus, $25/hour, MW afternoons, with two kids 8 and 12! kPTPS21020

Apply Now

Overview

A really lovely family in Gowanus is looking for a new part-time babysitter as they say goodbye to their current SmartSitter who got a new position! They are such an open and creative family and their kids are really fun and pretty easy going. They are looking for someone Monday and Wednesday, from 3-7:30 PM. They are open to adding another afternoon, or even a date night if anyone is interested. They can be fairly flexible with these additional hours. Flexibility to assist with full days if there is a school holiday during the regular schedule is a plus, too! It's $25/hour gross for at least 8-12 hours/week. The position will begin as soon as they find the right fit. Apply today!

The Ideal Sitter for this Job

Someone who can bring their own perspective and interests to the relationship. Someone creative or even academic is a plus! A sense of humor a lightheartedness is a must with this family and has a good and high energy. Someone who can be a go with the flow person, who can match their family's style. Being really present with the kids and connecting with them is so important. Reliability and timeliness is of the utmost importance. Someone who can manage their time with the kids and be sure everyone is where they need to be at the right time. Taking an initiative to tidy up before they leave and be that extra helping hand when needed is much appreciated. A soccer background or a willingness to kick a ball around is a plus! :) Musical and fun sitters should apply, too. Someone who can find ways to engage both kids, even if the oldest can seem less interested with his age or with their interests begin so different. Someone who is mindful of the space and doesn't mind keeping things in order or the space a bit cleaner than when you came in. Keeping a keen eye on the kids and away from screens when with the kids. Someone who values being present.

Schedule

MW afternoons, from 3-7:30 PM. They are flexible to add another afternoon or floating date night to add hours as well.

About the Children

boy, 12- He plays soccer and is really active. He is in sixth grade at a new junior high and is currently really into fishing. He is a kind and gentle guy. He is becoming so largely independent and really striving for that with his parents. girl, 8- She is theatrical and likes imaginary play. She is really active as well, but quite easy going. She currently goes to a Montessori school and is preparing for some testing to maybe switch to a more traditional learning environment. Both kids are learning Spanish at the moment and play classical guitar. They are both pretty mellow kids and get along for the most part.

Responsibilities

Picking up the kids from school in Downtown Brooklyn at 3 and 3:30 PM. Schools are about 20 minute walk away. Then, taking them to activities or home, helping with homework on occasion, doing fun activities at home, etc. Occasionally heating up a meal or prepping someone simple for the kids. Tidying up after meals and playtime, emptying or loading the dishwasher from meals, etc. Occasionally, going back and getting the boy from soccer. They are considering getting a puppy, so there may be some care for the dog with the kids like picking up the dog from day care across from the street.

  • Rate

    $25/hour gross, plus reimbursement for travel with the kids.

    Commitment

    through at least June 2020

    Total Hours per Week

    8-12 hours/week guaranteed

    Apply Now

© 2020 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.