Learn How SmartSitting is Handling Child Care During COVID-19 ›

For Nannies & Babysitters

Open Jobs

SUMMER PART-TIME: Armenia, NY with 3 kids + second caregiver!

Apply Now

Overview

Job code: kMKH51420 - $25-30/hour for 30 hours/week starting in the mornings! We have a lovely veteran SmartFamily looking for morning help at their place in Armenia, NY this summer including helping with the kids' homeschooling. They have worked with several SmartSitters in the past including several of our former admin teammates! Everyone adores them and says the best things about them. The core schedule is Monday to Friday, 8:45 AM to 2:45 PM. Flexibility to assist later in the day and on occasional weekend is a huge plus! They are only looking for those who are currently living locally and this would be a live out position. This position is primarily with the older kids, working alongside another nanny who is living with them at the moment, however the sitter may be with all three at times. Mom and dad are working from home at this time as well. They are looking for someone cheerful, fun, engaging, reliable, adaptable, willing to learn and help, and easy going to join their team. Open communication and a willingness to learn more about and implement their family style is paramount! It's $25-30/hour gross (DOE) for 30 hours/week guaranteed. The position will begin as soon as they find the right fit.

The Ideal Sitter for this Job

Someone who has multiples experience and is comfortable working alongside a team and other caregivers. Experience with toddlers and school aged kids is a huge plus! Someone who is patient and understanding with a background in special needs or education is a big plus as well in terms of the homeschooling aspect. Someone willing to learn the strategies and approaches used by the family and even meet with the oldest boy's therapist and learning specialists. Communication is huge in this role as you are working as a part of a larger team. mom and dad are also very communicative and open. Someone who can really connect with the kids. Someone who has a huge imagination and even an a few other tricks and ideas for games up their sleeve. Someone who is comfortable with allergies and can be conscientious of her tree nut allergies. They have to be mindful of this and detail orientated to be sure she doesn't eat anything with tree nuts. This is not a live in position, so the sitter must have reliable transportation to and from the position that is NOT public transportation. Someone who is mature — good judgment and attitude — and is open to and enthusiastic about a mix of after school childcare and personal assisting would be ideal. Someone with a real helping attitude and who can go with the flow is best as well.

Schedule

The core schedule is Monday to Friday, from 8:45-2:45 PM, with some flexibility to stay later or help on weekends.

About the Children

boy, 2- He is super cuddly and a really lovely little guy. girl, 6- She is really into pretend play so this is a must, but they'd love for her to get into other games as well. She loves to dance. She is so social and fun, and typically gets along with everyone! She carries an EpiPen with her for her tree nut allergy and is pretty aware and articulate about it with people. They avoid things like peanut M&Ms because they are processed in a facility with tree nuts, etc. Boy, age 9 - He's very energetic, smart, and creative! He loves doing crafts, building legos and reading. He is very inventive and likes creating car ramps, boats, and other fun toys out of boxes, paper and whatever else he can get his hands on! He's a lego lover. He likes sports. He's learning to read and loves to be read to! He has ADHD, takes medicine and it's helpful for him to have structure in the afternoons. During preschool he had some behavioral issues and they are working with a professional to tackle this. They get along really well, however, the position is primarily with the girl.

Responsibilities

Arriving in the morning to assist with getting breakfast tidied up. Helping with homeschooling for the oldest two as this has been the biggest challenge since being home. Making sure the oldest two are on track and keeping up with their work. Taking the oldest two kids and doing a fun indoor activity or getting outside for some active play after all their work is done. Helping with lunch and getting everyone settled in to eat. Helping to tidy up after as well! You will be working alongside their other SmartSitter and the full-time nanny. Occasionally, you may be asked to watch all three kids or just the littlest one if his nanny is away or on vacation. **The family wanted to note that it is important that their sitter understand the range of responsibilities that they will be responsible for as well, such as: Picking kids up and taking them to activities. Engaging the kids in active play. Supervising homework. Preparing dinner (they keep it simple!) and cleaning up from dinner. Baths and bedtime help. Personal admin such as figuring out what groceries they need and placing an order or going to the post office.

Additional Information

They have been socially distancing in their home in Armenia, NY, since March and are looking for someone who lives locally and has been practicing social distancing as well. This is not a live in position, so the sitter must have reliable transportation to and from the position that is NOT public transportation.

  • Rate

    $25-30/hour gross

    Commitment

    through summer and potentially longer

    Total Hours per Week

    30 hours/week guaranteed

    Apply Now

© 2020 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.