How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Nannies & Babysitters

Open Jobs

FULL-TIME SHORT-TERM LIVE-IN: Adventurous, patient, and fun educator/tutor for sweet, active 7-year-old twins in New Paltz.

Apply Now


Are you looking for a fun adventure and some time outside the hustle and bustle of the city?! Are you a teacher, paraprofessional or tutor looking for a great school-year position? Do you love working with second-graders? A wonderful family with 7-year-old boy/girl twins living near New Paltz for the year is looking for a full-time, live-in educator for the upcoming school year. The kids will be doing full-time remote learning, so they are looking for someone who can homeschool them while following the curriculum provided by their school and engage them in fun activities during downtime. Mom and dad will be working from home. Their ideal person is someone outgoing but not overwhelming, and the kids really respond to people who are kind and fun, yet also know when to be serious and get things done. The boy has an IEP, so special-needs experience is a plus! You'd live-in in a spacious, fully furnished, separate two-bedroom apartment on their property, and the family is open to accommodating partners or even a family on-site. They are quite conscious and cautious in regards to COVID-19. They fall at about a 1-2 on the COVID Risk Tolerance Chart, and are looking for someone interested in the same level of distancing, though visits to home and to see family and friends is totally ok with communication all around! It's $35-40/hour or $72-83k/year for 40-45 hours/week (with 5 hours of prep time to be included per week). Overtime will be compensated at 1.5x the hourly rate for any hours over 44 in a work week. Plus, there is a paid 2-week quarantine period before you begin, and paid vacations throughout the role to be discussed. Amazing opportunity; apply today! ***They are open to a short-term commitment through the end of 2020***

The Ideal Sitter for this Job

A strong and dedicated former educator, paraprofessional, teacher's aide, or tutor who has experience with second graders and can follow and supplement the kids' school curriculum. Special-needs experience is a plus as the boy has an IEP. Someone who can live in with them in the separate two-bedroom apartment (even with their own family, if applicable). Both kids are at grade level going into 2nd grade, but the boy needs more of a professional approach to structuring time, as he really thrives on structure. Someone understanding, patient, and calm who can help make transitions easier for the girl, and who can keep the boy structured and focused throughout his day. Someone who has been strictly quarantining and is comfortable continuing to do so, with the exception of the visit to relatives who are also strictly quarantining.


The core schedule is Monday to Friday, 8:30 AM-5:00 PM, with some flexibility to assist later or occasionally on weekends.

About the Children

boy, 7- He is in ICT class and making wonderful progress all the time. He is more emotional and can be reactive and moodier, but not mean spirited. He has exhibited more anxiety with the quarantine, but is still his fun and active self. girl, 7- She is a sweet girl who is pretty self sufficient, though she loves to spend time with teachers and sitters. She is a super kind kid


Bringing fun, excitement, and adventure to the kids' lives during this very odd time! Living-in near New Paltz and guiding the kids with the school approved and provided curriculum. Providing some supplemental teachings while also taking care of childcare while mom and dad are working from home. It is important to them that their education-driven caregiver is able to balance the remote learning with fun and engaging activities for the kids. Getting outdoors and enjoying the big open and exciting new spaces is a hug plus of this role as well!

Additional Information

In your off time, the family is comfortable with you going out and seeing people while maintaining social distancing and wearing masks, hand washing, etc. Occasional visits to family and friends is totally ok as well with open and transparent communication with the family. Regular testing for all is likely. Outdoors, distanced hangs with masks are totally fine (communication is always key on all fronts). The family is also happy to pay for your groceries and get them delivered, so you don't have to go outdoors, and they can accommodate a partner as well as kids! They are also open to a SHORT-TERM commitment through the end of December 2020!

  • Rate

    $72-83k/year at $35-40/hour gross + overtime, paid quarantine period, and vacation!


    through at least December 2020, and potentially longer

    Total Hours per Week

    40-45 hours/week guaranteed

    Apply Now

© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.