Learn How SmartSitting is Handling Child Care During COVID-19 ›

For Nannies & Babysitters

Open Jobs

PART-TIME SHORT-TERM: Fun, engaging, creative sitter for smart and creative girl, 4.

Apply Now

Overview

Do you live in or near Ditmas Park? Are you creative and fun? A family in Ditmas Park is looking for someone to assist them with after school care for their 4-year-old daughter as she begins in person classes at a new school. Mom and dad are working in the home, so the SmartSitter will be in charge of the girls after school pick ups (dad may end up picking her up in their car), care, snacks, activities, and and overall fun! Someone super super hygiene conscious (mom is also expecting in a month!) who is very communicative, self aware, and cautious when it comes to Covid is of the utmost importance. Someone fun, creative, kind, and warm is also paramount as there are a lot of transitions going on at once. They are saying goodbye to their current SmartSitter who they absolutely adore and will be missed as her schedule is changing. It's $18/hour gross with room to grow to $25/hour after the first week, for 20 hours/week guaranteed. Transportation reimbursement or a ride home in inclement weather is included. They know they need someone for at least the next month or two and potentially longer!

The Ideal Sitter for this Job

Someone who is warm, kind, understanding, firm, yet fun, and knows how to maintain boundaries. A kind, communicative, and professional approach is just as important as having a lot of fun with the girl! They are looking for someone trustworthy, open, and aligns with their approaches to the current situation as previously noted! They love creative types and anyone with a flair to bring to the positon. Someone who is currently practicing social distancing and wearing a mask when outside their home still, and is keeping up a good level of person hygiene by washing their hands often and with soap and water.

Schedule

The core schedule is Monday to Friday, from 3-6 or 7 PM. Some flexibility to assist on a weekend day is a plus! They are happy to guarantee 20 hours/week

About the Children

girl, 4- She is very outgoing! She likes people a lot (can have a tough time with a brand new person though), loves climbing, somersaults, and is very active! Napping is important for her mood, but she’s not always willing to nap! She can be a little stubborn when she doesn’t want to do something (ie wearing her coat on cold days or naps!). Especially now patience is paramount with her! Baby-to-be in October! Mom and dad will both be on leave for a few months :)

Responsibilities

Picking the girl up from school via uber or dad will drive to pick her up. Spending the afternoons with her to make sure she is safe, having fun, and being engaged. They would love for their person to come up with fun and creative activities for her to do daily. Especially with the cold weather coming around, a creative individual who can make a normally mundane indoor day exciting is best!

Additional Information

They have been working with a SmartSitter full-time since the spring and she doesn't take public transit. Dad is able to drive the sitter to and from in some bad weather or they can reimburse for a car, though they prefer to avoid trains and buses at the moment. Mom and dad both work from home. The girl will be in school 5 days/week to start with safety protocols including mask wearing by teachers, hand washing every 90 minutes, no outside visitors who are not staff allowed in, reduced class sizes, staff and student health checks upon entering each day, etc. Dad will likely drive her to and from school or they will pay for an uber for the SmartSitter to get her. They practice social distancing, wear masks personally, and have been keeping home as much as possible.

  • Rate

    $18/hour gross to start with room to grow!

    Commitment

    through October or November, and potentially longer

    Total Hours per Week

    20 hours/week guaranteed

    Apply Now

© 2020 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.