Learn How SmartSitting is Handling Child Care During COVID-19 ›

For Nannies & Babysitters

Open Jobs

PART-TIME: Fun, positive, and bright sitter for two kids, 5 and 8.

Apply Now

Overview

The Ideal Sitter for this Job

Someone that is fun and can engage the kids while learning or playing. Someone who also has a command with kids and can be the authority figure when needed. A positivity and bright attitude is so helpful. Mom is happy to go over their disciplinary approach with their new person as well. Ideally, they are looking for someone who can keep the kids on their daily schedule. Someone who is vigilant in terms of the safety and well being of my children, particularly given the changes we are navigating of late (see Additional Information). They are ok with a short train ride taking all the necessary precautions.

Schedule

The core schedule is : Monday, Tuesday, and Thursday, from 2-6 PM Wednesday, from 9-5 PM They can guarantee 20 hours/week.

About the Children

Girl, 8-She is going into 4th grade. She tends to sense people's hesitancy and can take charge of that at times. She is a quick and smart kid! Boy, 5- He is a pretty easy and sweet kid. He is super active Both are pretty good listeners and overall good kids. 

Responsibilities

Someone to pick up the kids from school, take them either to the park or to their after school activities when they come back and then home for showers, dinner and homework. Mom will mostly prepare the food and it will need to be warmed up, but there could be the occasional box of mac n cheese or chicken nuggets to make. On Wednesdays, the SmartSitter will help manage their remote school schedule. This could involve navigating technology (iPads, laptops, Zoom), helping to complete assignments, take body breaks/recess time, prepare lunch, take to and from any extra curricular activities and basically just keep on schedule.

Additional Information

They've been in the city for practically the entire time and only went away for a few weeks to Maine and MA at one point. They didn't see their family for several months. They have been poding with the kids in their small building with indoor playdates and go to the park. The kids wear masks in school and at the park. The kids go to public school, too. They really believe in protecting their neighbors and others as much as themselves. They have gone to a few restaurants locally, but always outside, and always, always wear masks. Mom is working part-time and dad is working full-time at the moment. They have not taken mass transit and don't plan to do so soon. They do have a housekeeping team who comes once/week via train and change their clothes when they arrive.

  • Rate

    $25-30/hour gross

    Commitment

    through the 2020-2021 school year

    Total Hours per Week

    20 hours/week guaranteed

    Apply Now

© 2020 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.