Learn How SmartSitting is Handling Child Care During COVID-19 ›

For Nannies & Babysitters

Open Jobs

FULL TIME NANNY: Park Slope family looking for active, kind, creative nanny for two kids, 5 and 3.

Apply Now

Overview

Are you looking for a full-time position that starts in the new year? Do you enjoy engaging with two active and creative school-aged kids? This is the job for you!! We have a lovely family in South Park Slope, Brooklyn looking for a full time nanny for their 5-year-old daughter and 3-year-old son. Both kids are going to school at least some days, and they are looking for a creative, engaging, and fun-loving nanny to join their team. Responsibilities would include drop off/pick up from school, helping to arrange outdoor playdates, assisting with homework, playing with them and working on art projects, and meal prep and laundry for the kiddos. The family's ideal nanny is someone creative, active, and kind, who's willing to engage with both kids, whether doing an art project, running around with them, or settling down to read or do homework. A nanny who speaks another language is a plus! Before COVID, the family used to travel a lot, both internationally and domestically, so a sitter who is willing to join them on adventures once things have opened back up would be great. For safety, they would like their nanny to get tested every 5-6 weeks, in cadence with the rest of the household, and they are able to help with this financially, if needed. They are okay with someone who takes public transit, so long as they are taking precautions. Someone with a valid driver's license is not mandatory, but a plus! It's $25-$30/hour gross, for 40 hours/week guaranteed. Start date is January 4th, but they are hoping to have someone officially hired before the December holidays. Does this sound like the job for you? Apply today!!

The Ideal Sitter for this Job

The ideal nanny for this family is someone who is kind, creative, and can do a lot of activities with the kids. Someone energetic and engaging, who is able to run around with them. The girl loves school and learning, so a nanny open to helping with homework and able to guide through that is a must! Someone who speaks another language is a plus but not required. The family used to travel a lot before the pandemic, so they would love a nanny who is open to traveling with them once things have opened back up. A drivers license is not mandatory, but definitely a plus!

Schedule

Monday to Friday, 8:30 AM-6:30 PM. Always guarantee 40 hours/week In September, the boy will start going for half or full days at the girl's school. At that time, the family and nanny can sit down to rework the schedule, maybe to 12:30 PM-8 PM.

About the Children

girl, 5 - Going to school full time. Very curious and social. Loves school and learning, very creative, likes to draw and paint. Currently doing a drama class and loving it. boy, 3 - Going to school 3 days/week. Very energetic, loud, and rambunctious. Laughs a lot. Really into reading and loves to make up stories. Also loves playing with instruments and being musical. Has recently been trying to figure out his boundaries, and learning to voice his opinion to his sister, rather than just go with what she wants to do. Learning to make his voice heard. Really fun bunch of kids!

Responsibilities

The main responsibilities will be drop off and/or pick up for school and playdates, engaging with the kids and keeping them active and entertained, away from added screen-time. The nanny will also share the responsibility of arranging outdoor playdates with other parents and nannies at/around pick-up. Handling the meal prep, meal, and cleanup, as well as the kids laundry and some light housework as needed.

Additional Information

This family is about a 3 on the Covid Risk Tolerance Chart. Both kids are going to school in person. Currently, the girl gets tested in school once a month. Mom and Dad both get tested once every six weeks or so, if not more frequently. Their current nanny is also getting tested every 5-6 weeks. They do have park playdates (usually not at other kids houses), and are only dining at restaurants outside. Dad is going into the office weekly on Wednesdays, usually by car, but sometimes taking the subway. The family has housekeeper who uses public transit, but is getting tested frequently. They are okay with a nanny who needs to take public transportation, provided they are taking precautions, and are okay to get tested ever 5-6 weeks (the family is happy to help pay for this, if needed).

  • Rate

    $25-30/hour gross

    Commitment

    Through at least September 2021

    Total Hours per Week

    40 hours/week guaranteed

    Apply Now

© 2020 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.