Learn How SmartSitting is Handling Child Care During COVID-19 ›

For Nannies & Babysitters

Open Jobs

SHORT TERM FULL TIME: Kind, active, and creative nanny for 6-year-old girl in Kensington, BK.

Apply Now

Overview

Are you looking for a short term full time position in Kensington, Brooklyn? Have you kept a small circle and strict practice around Covid? A lovely veteran SmartFamily is in need of a full time nanny for their independent and active 6-year-old daughter. The ideal nanny for this position is someone creative, kind, and dependable. The girl loves to run around, so someone able to get on her level, run around with and engage with her is a must! The girl is going to school virtually, and the nanny will be in charge of keeping her focused and helping with coursework and homework as needed. Outside of school, the girl is very creative, loves to work on art projects, and is very musical (she has virtual voice and piano lessons which she loves). Finding ways to engage with her without the use of screens is the priority. Some additional support with housework, meal prep, and errands would be very helpful for the family, as well. They are taking COVID precautions very seriously, and are looking for a nanny who can do so as well. Mom is going through serious medical treatment, so they are staying away from crowds, aren't seeing anyone outside, and are having all of their groceries and food delivered. They are looking for a sitter who is taking similar precautions, able to avoid the subway/public transportation, and lives close enough to walk/bike, or can drive themselves to the position. To make this easier, the family does have a furnished, 1 bedroom apartment 2 blocks away that they are more than happy for the nanny to use during the course of the position. The rate is $25-30/hour gross for 40 hours/week guaranteed. This position would start ASAP, so apply today if this seems like the job for you!

The Ideal Sitter for this Job

The ideal nanny for this family is kind, trustworthy, energetic, and creative. The girl has lots of energy and loves to be active, as a sitter who can engage with her in that way is important. The ideal nanny is also warm, empathetic, compassionate, with good energy. Experience and comfort around handling household activities is a plus!

Schedule

The core schedule is Monday to Friday, from 8 AM to 4 PM. They are offering 40 hours/week guaranteed.

About the Children

girl, 6 - very artistic, creative and independent. When not focused on school or an art project, she is very active, loves to run around, and is also very musical.

Responsibilities

The girl will be in virtual school full time, so the nanny will be helping to keep her on track and focused in those moments, as well as supporting any classwork or homework. She is also currently taking a number of lessons/group classes virtually (voice, piano, dance, and Spanish) so assisting in keeping on top of those and preparing for them will be a huge help. Outside of school, keeping her occupied without screens is the name of the game, be it through activities, art projects, song and dance, or make believe. The family would also love some support with housework, meal prep (cooking experience a big plus!), and grocery shopping.

Additional Information

The family is being very strict with COVID, as Mom is immunocompromised. They are not seeing people outside of the home, have all groceries and food delivered, and are not taking public transit. They are looking for a sitter who is willing to take similar precautions during the position, who is close enough to walk/bike or can drive themselves to the position. If that is not doable, they do have a furnished apartment 2 blocks away from the house, and would be happy to have the sitter use that for the duration of the position. They would also prefer that the sitter wear a mask for the first few days/weeks of the position as they get to know each other.

  • Rate

    $25-30/hour gross

    Commitment

    4-month commitment

    Total Hours per Week

    40 hours/week guaranteed

    Apply Now

© 2020 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.