How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Nannies & Babysitters

Open Jobs

FULL-TIME NANNY: Kind and Loving UWS Family Seeks Hebrew speaking nanny for growing family.

Apply Now

Overview

Do you speak fluent Hebrew and can read and write in Hebrew?! Are you looking for a new full-time nanny role with a growing family? A kind and loving family on the Upper West Side is seeking a Hebrew-fluent and literate nanny to join their child care team, which consists of two other full-time nannies. They have two kids, 3 and 1, and are welcoming a third in the New Year. They are hoping to have someone kind, energetic, flexible, and experienced (in addition to Hebrew-fluent) join their happy home. Thanks to their wonderful child care partners, the parents are able to continue their fulfilling (and demanding) careers while their children are thoughtfully and lovingly supported throughout the next year. It's $30-50/hour gross (DOE) for at least 40 hours/week guaranteed. Overtime as applicable and benefits included! The position has a very flexible start and they are willing to hire someone ahead of the arrival of the new baby to get settled and connect with the family and other nannies! Apply today!

The Ideal Sitter for this Job

A fluent and literate Hebrew speaker is required first and foremost, with an understanding of non-secular Hebrew studies and an ability to teach the kids both the language and about the culture. Someone who can help their kids learn Hebrew and understand the importance of their culture is hugely important to this family. Someone who is communicative, open, and works well with others is paramount as you will always be working alongside at least one other caregiver or parent. Someone warm, professional, and very organized. Experience from newborns to toddlers is hugely important as they are welcoming a new baby, and while you'd likely always be working alongside another nanny or parent, the ability to shift between kids or tasks is important. The ideal person will be open to working with the family as their exclusive employer and will maintain small circles and minimal exposure outside of their position. The family loves, values, and respects their full-time nannies who they describe as the glue and backbone of their family. One of their current nannies is higher risk for COVID, so there are many precautions being taken to keep her and her husband safe. Their parenting style (and specialty of one nanny) is very aligned with Montessori education, so an understanding or interest in this is great, but not required!

Schedule

The core schedule will be Monday to Friday, from 11am-7pm OR from 7am-3pm, depending on the other nannies' schedules. Flexibility to stay later on occasion or shift the hours i a huge plus for these busy working parents.

About the Children

The family has two children, an almost one-year-old girl and a 3-year-old boy. They are happy, healthy, and are meeting all their developmental milestones. Their 3-year-old is sweet, polite, and can at times be a bit stubborn (as most children at this age can be!). There is nothing out of the ordinary to note, they just need someone to love them, engage them, and be there with them through this strange year! Baby #3 in April 2021!

Responsibilities

Your time would be spent caring for 1-2 of the three children alongside another caregiver or parent. Primarily, the new nanny would be working on Hebrew fluency, literacy, and non-secular Hebrew studies with the kids. You will focus on setting up activities and lessons based around non-secular Hebrew Studies. Use your intuition to guide the development and growth of the kids, while functioning as a part of the greater child care team in the home. Before the new baby comes, you would be working with either the girl or the boy, depending on the schedule of the other nannies that day, and eventually the new baby, too. Helping with meals, diaper changes, potty training, taking them to the park, (eventually when it's safe) setting up playdates and taking them to and from school, planning fun activities at home surrounding Hebrew and otherwise, helping with the kid's laundry and keeping the home organized and tidy, and really being a team player to pitch in where needed. It is important that this person be flexible and comfortable moving between the age groups and helping out around the house with light household management tasks. At times, they may ask you to stay later if mom or dad are stuck in a meeting or have a late night of work.

Additional Information

Home environment: The family lives in a 3 bedroom home, each child has their own room at the moment. Occasionally one of their full-time nanny may stay over (she drives to work from outside Manhattan). Parents are both busy working all day, and their general vibe is to leave the care and well-being of the children to their trusted child care team. The family is low key, low drama, and works really hard, and therefore needs to trust the intuition and judgement of their child care team. As a result of the parents careers, this position doesn't require any travel and is very stable and consistent. COVID protocols: The family is extra careful. The parents work from home mostly but do go into the office occasionally. They are regularly COVID tested and wear appropriate PPE. Looking for someone equally careful, who takes COVID seriously, who has a limited network outside of work in terms of exposure and is close to the UWS.

  • Rate

    $30-$50/hour, DOE

    Commitment

    at least one year, ideally longer

    Total Hours per Week

    40 hours/week guaranteed

    Apply Now

© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.