How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Nannies & Babysitters

Open Jobs

PART TIME: Loving, experienced, and super engaging nanny for two boys, 4 and 7, in Scarsdale.

Apply Now

Overview

Are you in Westchester and looking for a regular part-time nanny position? Do you have a knack for working with early school aged kids? A lovely veteran family who moved to Scarsdale recently is looking for a new nanny to assist with their boys, 4 and 7, in the afternoons on weekdays. Their boys are really sweet and fun. They are looking for someone who can set boundaries and be equal parts engaging and firm with the youngest who is working on managing the big emotions a little kid can have in life! Someone patient and fun will be most ideal for him and his brother. It's $25-30/hour gross for 30 hours/week guaranteed. They are looking to have someone start in the new year as soon as possible, and commit through at least June 2021. Apply today to meet with this wonderful and kind family!

The Ideal Sitter for this Job

A nanny who can help to set boundaries with the youngest, engage with him, and create structure for him to thrive. A firm, but loving person to create a safe and healthy learning space and space for him to also relax after school.  The boy can get clingy with mom, so distracting him and keeping him super engaged to form a bond will be best. Someone who has experience with more difficult transitions at the start is a big plus, too! Someone respectful of mom and dad's boundaries when they are working and who is a keen distractor for the boy to keep him engaged which they work. Background in early childhood education is a big plus!

Schedule

The core schedule is Monday to Friday, from 11:30-5:30 PM. They are happy to guarantee 30 hours/week!

About the Children

boy, 4- He is at a nursery school in the morning and gets the bus home. He likes to play with cars and reading. He gets OT and speech therapy. He has some trouble with certain sounds. He is working on self regulation for his emotions and holding things with his hands. He really enjoys cooking activities.  boy, 7- He is in school until 3 PM. He is pretty self sufficient and a really sweet kid. He likes to spend time with his brother, but he is also happy to spend his time independently.

Responsibilities

Meeting the youngest at the bus, giving him lunch and creating fun activities with him, both educational and engaging, until the evening time when mom and dad are done with work. The nanny would ideally be working on his writing and reading skills, and developmental milestones ahead of Kindergarten.  His brother comes home on the bus at 3 PM, so you'll all spend time together then. Sometimes the youngest naps and sometimes he doesn't in the afternoon. Prepping his lunch (PB and J, etc.) and helping with some dinner prep and tidying up. academic-type activities? 

Additional Information

Both mom and dad are working from home in their home offices. The boys are in school in person and wear masks. They have social distancing in place at both schools, though it's admittedly harder with the younger boy's school given their age. They have temp checks for each day. Both schools enforce the quarantine rules when there is exposure and get all the info from both teachers and students' families. They family otherwise only go out to drop the kids at school or to go to the store and errands, etc. They aren't socializing with people who do not live in their home at this time. They are spending the holidays just with themselves in their home. 

  • Rate

    $25-30/hour gross

    Commitment

    through June 2021

    Total Hours per Week

    30 hours/week guaranteed

    Apply Now

© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.