How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Nannies & Babysitters

Open Jobs

PART-TIME NANNY: Family looking for caring, engaging, and warm nanny for two kids, 10 and 6, in South Orange, NJ.

Apply Now

Overview

Are you in New Jersey and looking for a part-time job? This lovely family in South Orange is looking for someone warm and caring to spend afternoons with their 10-year-old daughter and 6-year-old son. Both kids are going to school, the boy full time at a nearby private school, and the girl likely to switch to a hybrid schedule of in-person and remote through her public school. Responsibilities for this position will include picking kids up from school (car provided by the family) and spending the afternoon with them while the parents finish up work. This may also include some tidying and laundry for the kids at the beginning of the day or during breaks. The ideal caregiver for this position is caring and engaging, and has experience with school age kids. The family needs the nanny to handle school pick-up, so someone who can drive is a must. Covid practices are on the cautious side, with masks being worn outdoors, avoiding social gatherings, and the family getting tested regularly. They would like their nanny to get tested on a similar cadence, and to have similar practices and precautions. Rate for this position is $25-30/hour for 30 hours/week guaranteed. Start date would be beginning of February, with interviews to begin ASAP. Interested? Apply today!

The Ideal Sitter for this Job

The ideal nanny for this family is caring, engaging, and able to balance that with more serious boundary setting or discipline. Since they live in the suburbs, a nanny who can drive is a must. The family is being very careful with COVID, so they are looking for someone taking similar precautions, who is willing to get tested on a schedule to be determined.

Schedule

The core schedule for this position is Monday to Friday, between 12:30 PM and 7 PM, averaging about 6 hours per day. The family is happy to guarantee 30 hours/week with potential for more.

About the Children

girl, 10 - A typical 10-year old girl, she is independent and creative. She is currently remote at a nearby public school, but will be going back to a hybrid model soon. Her best friend up the street, and in pod with her, so they love to spend time together when they can. boy, 6 - Active and playful, currently attending private school in person.

Responsibilities

Mom and Dad will take the morning responsibilities, so the day would likely begin with some laundry and tidying, before picking the kids up from school. The family has a car for the nanny to use for errands and pick up. After they get back home, the afternoon will be watching the kids, helping with homework and some play time while mom and dad are working (either from home or at the office). They also have two dogs who the nanny may have to let out occasionally.

Additional Information

Covid-wise, while no one in the family is high-risk, they are taking a number of precautions. Mom and Dad are working on a split schedule, sometimes from the city and sometimes more locally, and sometimes from home. The whole family wears masks whenever they are outside, the son gets tested monthly through school, and the rest of the family get tests through home kits. There is a house keeper who comes weekly, who is being careful. The family is looking for a sitter who is following guidelines and is willing to get tested with the family on a similar schedule.

  • Rate

    $25-30/hour gross

    Commitment

    At least one year

    Total Hours per Week

    30 hours/week guaranteed

    Apply Now

© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.