How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Nannies & Babysitters

Open Jobs

FULL TIME NANNY: Fun, caring, and engaging nanny for playful and energetic 5-year-old girl on the UES.

Apply Now

Overview

Do you love engaging with playful and creative 5-year-olds? Looking for a full time position for at least the next year? This SmartFamily is looking for a caring, engaging, and fun nanny for their almost-Kindergatener! She's super energetic, loves to play pretend and explore the world around her. The family is looking for someone who can spend the beginning of the day helping out around the house (with the girl's laundry, prepping her lunch/meals, and tidying her areas) and then head out to pick the kiddo up from school and spend the rest of the day reading books, heading to the park to run around, having fun with the girl. The family does have someone high-risk in the house, so COVID-safety is very important to them. They have a very limited social circle, always wear masks, and the girl gets tested weekly with school. They are looking for someone also taking precautions, who can avoid taking public transit, and is open to quarantining before they start/potentially getting tested regularly. Rate for this role is $25-30/hour gross, with 40 hours/week guaranteed. The family is hoping to have someone start by mid-April, with interviews starting ASAP. Apply today!

The Ideal Sitter for this Job

The family is looking for someone who is interested in a long-term position and can help with ongoing learning and fun experiences as their daughter grows! She's a very active and playful little girl, so someone super ready to play with her and let her lead the day's activities would be perfect. The family loves suggestions from nannies who notice new or blossoming interests in their daughter, and are hoping for someone enthusiastic, who cares about the child and making sure she's just having fun. Someone playful, caring, loving, engaging. They may occasionally ask the nanny to stay late (not as much now, but it could happen in the future), so someone who's flexible and adaptable would be great.

Schedule

The core schedule will be Monday to Friday, starting between 9 and 11 AM, depending on the day, and going until 7 PM. The family is happy to guarantee 40 hours/week with the possibility of overtime. Summer schedule may shift depending on what the family feels safe doing (camps, etc.), but will discuss this with their nanny when the time comes.

About the Children

girl, 5 - She is a great kid, super curious and engaged, an only child, with a very energetic and excited personality. She loves adventures and playing, very imaginative, and interested in the world around her. She has a rich play life, and loves going to the park, reading/being read to, blocks, tiles, and playing pretend. She is always super excited to play with you and engage with you, be it going to the park or snuggling in for a story or two. She's a great reader, and is good at switching between activities. She has and online ballet class that she's loving right now, and she will be starting kindergarten in the fall (likely in person).

Responsibilities

The main responsibilities for this role will be helping with some household tasks while the girl is at school, then heading to pick up and spending the rest of the day with the girl! She loves park trips with kids from her class who are part of her pod, and the family would also love help with play dates and taking her to activities once things are back to normal. She's also a pretty adventurous eater, and the family would love to have the nanny eat with her and engage with her around food ("tell me what that tastes like", "can I try that?"). Household management tasks could include help with laundry (there's a laundry room in the basement of their building), food prep for the girl (packing lunch for next day), help keeping her room clean and her things organized.

Additional Information

One of the family members is very high-risk, so the family is being very strict and careful with COVID. The girl is in school during the day, 9 am to 3 pm, and gets tested weekly with her class. Dad will be vaccinated by April, is currently working from home, and were he to return to the office, would be tested whenever he went in. The family has kept their bubble very limited, aren't going indoors places, and are only seeing people within the pod at the school (the school requires that kids only socialize with other kids in their class). They are hoping for someone who is also being very COVID-safe, who would be willing to get tested/quarantine before they start, with potential for getting tested regularly during the position. They would also prefer someone who is able to walk, bike, or drive to work, and can avoid taking public transportation. They would be willing to consider reimbursing for Uber/Lyft for the right candidate. Please include any vaccine-status in your application.

  • Rate

    $25-30/hour gross

    Commitment

    At least one year!

    Total Hours per Week

    40 hours/week guaranteed

    Apply Now

© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.