How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Nannies & Babysitters

Open Jobs

HEAVY PART-TIME NANNY: Carroll Gardens family looking for flexible, caring, and engaging nanny for two kids, 7 and 5.

Apply Now

Overview

Are you looking for a fun and exciting role with two school-aged kids? Looking to make a long-term commitment to a wonderful family? This could be the job for you! A wonderful veteran SmartFamily is saying goodbye to their SmartSitter of three years, and is looking for another amazing fit for their family team. They are looking for someone flexible, playful, engaging, and warm to spend the afternoons and evenings with their 7.5-year-old son and 5.5-year-old daughter! A standard week will likely entail picking both kids up from their school nearby, playing with them or helping with homework, doing some dinner prep for the kids, and taking them through the start of their nighttime routine. Mom and Dad both work in production, so this could include early mornings or late nights, but the family always gives as much notice as possible, and has some flexibility. This may also include some traveling with the family as the nanny is available. While this job will mostly be part-time, the family is happy to pay for a full-time schedule since they know some weeks will be busier than others. Their ideal nanny is kind, creative, engaging, and flexible, someone who is comfortable traveling with the family as needed, helping out around the house a bit, and is looking to make a long term commitment with their family. COVID-wise, they have been very careful, but now that both parents are vaccinated, they are starting to see a few more people in their circle, but only without masks if they aren't vaccinated. They would prefer a nanny who is also vaccinated, but are open. They are also fine with someone who needs to take public transit to reach them. The rate is $25-30/hour with benefits, for 40 hours/week guaranteed (knowing most weeks will actually be part-time, while others may be a bit busier). The family is looking to find their next great fit - apply today!

The Ideal Sitter for this Job

The ideal candidate for this family is someone supporting, playful, energetic, and above all, flexible. They are looking for someone who is an open and clear communicator, who understands that things can change, and has an "we're all in this together" mindset. Most weeks will be more of a part time schedule, knowing that there will be be busier weeks/months, so someone who can roll with the punches and is ready to be a partner with Mom and Dad to keep things stable and really become a part of the family. The girl is also in a French program at school, so someone who speaks French would be a fun plus!

Schedule

The core schedule is likely to start around 1 or 2 PM, and go until 6 or 7 PM, Monday through Friday, with potential to come earlier if the parents have an early day. Mom and dad both can have later nights or need to travel for work, so flexibility is key. The family is happy to pay for 40 hours/week, knowing that while it's mostly a part-time schedule, there will be busy weeks.

About the Children

Boy, 7.5 - He is a really kind boy, with tons of energy, but is very loving and cuddly. He is active and loves soccer. Girl, 5.5 - She is very curious, super engaged, and energetic. She absolutely loves animals of all shapes and sizes. Both are pretty great kids - after spending so much time together during quarantine, they can get into tiffs, but they are easy to diffuse. A pair of energetic, curious, and happy kids.

Responsibilities

During normal weeks, the main responsibilities of the role will be picking the kids up from school (both are in the public school about two blocks for the family's home), helping with homework and prepping dinner for the kiddos, and taking them through their nighttime routine. The family would also love some support around the house, tossing in a load of laundry, unloading the dishwasher, maybe running to the store to grab a thing or two. There may be some early mornings if the parents have to go in, so they could need some help with the morning routine, getting the kids dressed, ready, and off to school. The nanny would then be off until the afternoon, with the normal schedule. In addition, both Mom and Dad travel for work, so this could require overnights if both are out of town simultaneously, and if going to the same place (LA, Miami, etc.), sometimes this role may include some traveling with the family. This would likely be about 3-5 trips/year, 5-7 days/trip, with all expenses paid.

Additional Information

The family is being careful with COVID, but are starting to open back up now that Mom and Dad are both fully vaccinated. They continue to follow all guidelines, and the kids are in masks at school, however Mom and Dad do travel quite a bit for work, but they are very safe. They do have occasional playdates where the kids are all wearing masks, and there are a few families in their pod that they don’t wear masks with, as all adults are vaccinated. The family lives in the bottom three floors of their brownstone, and are very close with the family who lives in the upper three floors (two kids, a 3yo and 8mo). Both sets of kids will run up or down to play, or they will all get together in their back yard when the weather is nice. The upstairs family also has a nanny, who is good about coordinating to make playdates! The family is hoping for someone who’s vaccinated (although it's not a deal breaker), who's being safe and taking precautions. They are fine with someone who needs to take public transportation to reach them in Carroll Gardens.

  • Rate

    $25-30/hour gross + benefits!

    Commitment

    At least one year!

    Total Hours per Week

    40 hours/week guaranteed

    Apply Now

© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.