For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Jessica V.

Education

Westmont College,
B.A. in English Literature

Childcare Experience

After-School Babysitter
Torrance, CA, 08/16 - 10/16
One girl, age 12

Occasional Babysitter
Minneapolis, MN, 01/16 - 05/16
One boy, 6, one girl, 4

Part-time Babysitter
Kowloon, Hong Kong, 09/14 - 05/15
Three girls, ages 3, 5, 8

Camp Counselor
Sacramento, CA, 05/09 - 08/09
12-16 teenagers per week, ages 12-17

After-School Babysitter
Santa Barbara, CA, 01/13 - 06/13
Two boys, ages 7 and 10

Professional Experience

Cafe Assistant Manager
Santa Barbara, CA, 09/13 - 01/14

Restaurant Assistant Manager
Manhattan Beach, CA, 01/14 - 07/14

Kindergarten Teacher
Tung Chung, Hong Kong, 08/14 - 07/15

Toddler Playgroup Teacher
Tung Chung, Hong Kong, 09/14 - 06/15

Freelance Writer
Westlake Village, CA, 01/16 - 05/16

Wedding Event Planner Assistant
Palos Verdes, CA, 06/16 - 08/16

About me

I am have always been a relationship builder. Developing strong reliable, and caring relationships and pouring into people's lives is at the core of who I am and how I want to live my life. While I actively learned how to form strong bonds with peers and adults growing up, I never knew I would eventually be on a path toward wanting to build those relationships specifically with children and youth. At least, not until the summer I worked at a houseboat camp!

Let's just say relationships develop quickly and powerfully when you are living on a boat with fifteen or more people in the middle of a river for a week. Of course, everyone was there for the experience, but there was something so different, intimate, and unique about the interactions between counselors and campers while sharing a small space and floating on the water. Each week I got to befriend, serve, mentor, and have lots of fun with amazing kids from all over the country—and it was the best time. By the end of the week, without fail, I had the same realization that time with youth is time well spent.

Since that summer I have loved working alongside families and kids as a babysitter, mentor, and teacher, and getting to build relationships with both the kids and the parents. What was special about being a Kindergarten teacher was not only the sweet opportunity to daily interact with my intelligent and hilarious students, but also getting to know their parents well enough to truly partner with them for the schooling portion of their children's lives. From toddler groups to teenagers, from California to Hong Kong, I have been very fortunate to work with and encourage kids of all ages and background and treat every diverse experience as a chance to grow as a person and advocate for the young.

I am someone who naturally enjoys helping families operate, being present and available to support them in whatever capacity, and learning what makes every child his or her individual self. I spend time thinking about conversations, activities, and experiences that will help them grow and I enjoy finding fun and new alternatives to the normal. In every relationship with a child, I believe establishing trust, dependability, and security are of utmost importance, and I also believe they need safe but free, practical but creative environments in order to thrive. I think there is time for laughter and fun, for seriousness and sadness, and always time for thoughtfulness and understanding. I think kids intuitively know when to be all these things and just need loving and patient adults to guide them on the path to personhood and development. That is what I love doing and what I hope to continue doing as a nanny!


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

Exploring the streets of NYC, specifically ones near the Hudson, drinking coffee or tea, reading a novel off my lifetime list of books that I will probably never finish, catching up with an old or new friend over the phone or at a coffee shop, trying out a new recipe (usually trying to figure out another way to use avocado as a substitute in baking or how to incorporate cinnamon into almost anything), writing! or thinking about writing and trying to muster up the motivation to continue working on the novel I started, finding new ways to laugh, doing pilates, asking my mom or sister a question, looking up new restaurants to try, and constantly checking my calendar and planning!

In 5 years, I hope to be...

In a fulfilling long-term relationship or married, writing full time or involved in some other meaningful line of work, and if not living in NYC, then living somewhere in nature with more space or near family. I hope to be spending my time bettering my community and society, prioritizing my family and friends, sustaining my lifelong relationships, adventuring every now and then, and genuinely enjoying my life and what I'm doing.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love being outside with kids and playing sports or made-up games, helping them with school work and teaching them things I know, through quality conversation or visual demonstration, facilitating learning experiences through cooking/baking and art activities (or art museums), listening to, dancing to, or singing along with music, reading to them or sharing opinions about stories, and doing anything that helps them improve their daily routine. I think the most well-rounded kids have established routines with indoor and outdoor activities and the hope of a change of pace or environment every now and then, and I am interested and willing to learn what that specifically looks like for each child!


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.