For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Jess F.

Education

College- Arizona State University,
Elementary Education

Childcare Experience

General Education Teacher
Mesa, AZ, 07/15 - 05/16
Third grade students, ages 8-9

Babysitter/Nanny
Gilbert, AZ, 09/10 - 10/13
Boys, 1, 4, 6

Magical Moments Business Owner/Performer
Phoenix, AZ, 05/14 - 11/16
Boys and girls ages 3-10

ASU iTeach Program Student Teacher
Tempe, AZ, 08/13 - 05/15
First, third, and fourth grade students.

Professional Experience

Disney World Sales Consultant and Trainer
Orlando, FL, 01/13 - 08/13

Server
New York, NY, 08/16 - 11/16

Server
Gilbert, AZ, 02/14 - 09/14

About me

When I was little, my favorite games to play were house and school. I was always the mom or the teacher. I began babysitting for family friends at the age of 12 and continued through high school. In college, I was blessed to nanny for a family with three wonderful little boys. I graduated in 2015 from Arizona State University with a degree in education and began my first year of teaching as soon as I graduated. I truly enjoyed my time teaching my third graders, and I learned so much about myself and how to connect with kids in a variety of ways. I had to learn how to teach students who were at all different levels as well as how to motivate them to want to learn, but there is so much more to teaching than just educating students. I had to connect with my kids on an emotional level and help them through times of struggle and hardship. I had to create trust as well as a safe environment for my students to come to everyday. I was able to establish rules with my students and execute a disciplinary plan when rules were broken.

I made sure that my third graders understood that I deserved respect from them, and they deserved respect from me. It is so important to me that kids are treated the same as any other human being. They may be younger than me and they may be under my care, but we are equals. While I loved teaching, I have always had another dream that had been put on hold due to my education. I have always wanted to move to New York City. I decided to put my career on hold and make the dream a reality. I am loving my new life here in New York but I miss those connections and light bulb moments with my kiddos. I would love to find a family to work with so I can continue to make those amazing connections.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

Spending time with friends and exploring New York City. I love being active and I have been taking dance classes at a nearby studio. Reading and listening to music are two of my favorite ways to relax and I enjoy spending time outside.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

I hope to be happy with whatever career path I have chosen. I see myself pursuing theatre professionally or possibly going back to teaching and starting a family of my own.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love sharing my love for music and performing with children. It really helps when we play games together and we have to imagine ourselves as characters, whether its cowboys and indians, or princesses and fairies. I enjoy creating arts and crafts projects with kids as well as outdoor activities and playing sports games!


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.