For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Marcia V.

Education

Brooklyn College,
B.A. In Accounting
N/a

Childcare Experience

Nanny
New York, NY, 06/00 - 08/09
Two boys, ages 6 months - 6 years

Part-Time Babysitter
New York, NY, 10/15 - 01/16
Two boys, ages 7 months and 3

Nanny
New York, NY, 08/11 - Present
One boy ages 5 months - present

Professional Experience

Intern at BlueMatrix
New York, NY, 07/14 - 08/15

About me

I come from a large family so every now and then I would take care of my younger siblings or cousins when the parents of the child/children had to go out. I developed a love for children. I decided to help a few children in my neighborhood with their homework in the afternoons. When I migrated to New York I started babysitting and I developed an even deeper respect and love for children. They bring great joy to everyone.
I love reading different types of books, whether it be novels, health, wealth, self help or science fiction. Through my reading I discover ideas to suggest to families about children's development and teaching them how to interactive with other children or anyone else, how to behave, to listen and to be.
I normally ask children what fun things they would love to do that he/she have never tried before or I simply come up with activities that are fun and safe, like going to the playground, library or to a museum.
I studied at BMCC where I received my associates degree, then I went to Brooklyn College and achieved my Bachelors in Accounting. I worked part time as a nanny while studying so I have a lot of experience working with kids from three months to seven years old. I also worked with a family in Queens who had six children. Four were in school so I was with the two youngest until the other children came home. It was a bit challenging but I made it work.
I love working with children because I love it. I learn from children and I admire their honesty, energy and their creativity. They are very curious and I love seeing them happy, the expressions they give are priceless.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)

I will be SmartSitting while...

I am reading at home or at the gym.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

I would love to work with children and hopefully become a child protective service officer.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love taking children to activities like swimming, gymnastics and soccer. I love teaching children about sharing, personal space, tone of voice, asking questions, and helping them to talk about their feelings.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.