For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Marini P.

Education

Earlham College,
B.A. in Neuroscience

Bard College,
Associate of Arts

Childcare Experience

Children's Museum Educator
Staten Island, New York, 06/14 - Present
Girls and boys, ages 3-12

Activities Specialist
Staten Island, NY, 06/12 - 08/12
Boys and girls, ages 7-9

Daycare Assistant
Staten Island, NY, 09/04 - 09/06
Boys and girls, infants, and toddlers, ages 3-12

Professional Experience

Children's Museum Educator
Staten Island, NY, 06/14 - Present

Biology Lab Teaching Assistant
Richmond, IN, 01/13 - 05/13

Activities Specialist
Staten Island, NY, 06/12 - 08/12

Biology Teaching Assistant
Richmond, IN, 09/10 - 12/10

About me

I have had ten years of experience working with children, practical childcare experience as a daycare assistant, experience teaching math and science to elementary school students and academic research in the area of childhood development and yet, I am still constantly astounded by the deep level of empathetic understanding that can be found in a young child. I think this important quality is keenly connected to the accumulation of new and engaging social experiences. I hope to, as a long term caregiver, facilitate many memories of complex and beautiful adventures in music, nature, art and culture for each individual child. I look to understand a child's specific needs emotionally and developmentally and balance my approach to meet the needs of parent and child. I tailor the activities I design to a child's learning style and work with and from his or her interests to build self-esteem and nurture a child's natural wonderment with the world.

I love to cook healthy meals and look for ways to pack in the most nutrients in the yummiest ways. I absolutely love baking cookies with some kid-helpers in the kitchen and see kitchen-work as an excellent opportunity for a child to develop manual dexterity and math skills and express creativity. Tidying after all our fun is no problem!

I'd love to spend lots of time outside using the wonderful resources of our multi-cultural city, exploring nature and stretching our limbs and minds. Reading and learning through the tales of storybook characters is something I have always enjoyed and I hope share this pass time with a child in regular visits to the library, literary themed games and great bedtime stories.

I also have 12 years of experience taking cello through my own childhood and know how valuable and magical musical immersion can be. I can help explore world music with a child and engage in singalongs or implement a routine of daily practice and to-and-fro for lessons.

As a caregiver, my main goals are to provide each child with safety, security and the stability of a reliable routine so as to build a healthy confidence and vivacious curiosity in the world.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)

I will be SmartSitting while...

When I'm not babysitting, I'm usually spending quality time with my brothers and sisters, attending their art shows, dance rehearsals and recitals and videoing their scenes in the school musical with unabashed pride. I also enjoy running, so I'm usually training to P.R in a future road race.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

In 5 years I hope to be continuing work with children on many different levels. A long term goal I have is to advance my studies of the behavioral science on the graduate level.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love teaching kids about science. Some activities I'd love to share with a child are nature walks in the park, pressing wild flowers in a nature and science journal, visiting gardens and farms and blackberry picking. I'd love to share drum circles at Battery Park City Esplanade, the Downtown Dance Festival and visits to the Metropolitan Museum of Art and American Indian Museum for Circle of Dance. These experiences were apart of my childhood and I now understand how intentional experiences can create in a child joy, discipline and an intrinsic aesthetic. I'd love to build sandcastles, paint watercolors and picnic at the beach, visit Chinatown during the Chinese New Year to see lion heads dance down the street, strum a dulcimer and make up songs or play with paper dolls and floor puzzles as we wait dinner to finish in the oven.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.