How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Dorrie S.

Education

Masters in Dance Education at Hunter,
Masters

LaGuardia Highschool for the Performing Arts,
Highschool Diploma

The Boston Conservatory,
BFA in Dance

Childcare Experience

Part time Nanny
London, , 01/19 - 06/20
4 children, ages 7, 12, 15 and 17

After-School Babysitter
Paris, France, 06/16 - 11/16
7, then 8 year old girl

After- School Babysitter
Paris, France, 06/16 - 11/16
5 year old boy

Part- Time Babysitter
Boston, MA, , 09/15 - 05/16
Three year old girl

Part- Time Babysitter
New York City, , 05/15 - 08/15
one year old boy and three year old girl

After- School Babysitter
Boston, MA, , 01/15 - 05/15
3 year old girl and six year old boy

Professional Experience

Ballet Teacher at Babyballet
London, , 01/19 - 03/20

Street Dance Teacher for Funky Moves
London, , 03/19 - 03/20

Teachers Assistant for Creative Movement classes
Boston, MA, 09/15 - 06/16

Sales Associate at Anthropologie
Boston, MA, 09/15 - 05/16

YMCA Camp Counselor
New York, NY, 06/14 - 08/14

Costume Shop Associate at The Boston Conservatory
Boston, MA, 09/13 - 05/14

American Apparel Sales Associate
New York, NY, 05/13 - 08/13

Dance Teacher for children at Art's House School
New York, NY, 05/12 - 08/12

About me

Hi! My name is Dorrie is Silver and I am born and raised in Brooklyn, New York. From an early age I was drawn to taking care of kids. I think the real reason is how creative and open they are. I've had the fortune of taking care of many families throughout New York, Boston Paris and London. This ranged from changing the diapers of a 4 month old to helping with the homework of a 17 year old.
The reason why I am so drawn to the creativity of a young mind is that I am an artist myself. I am a professional dancer, dance teacher and choreographer. I have studied dance my entire life. I love being able to bring my love for dance and art into the homes of the children I babysit. Most kids love the energy and fun music I'll come in with and we just have a blast!
I am also bilingual in French and love to teach the kids I look after new words and phrases- they pick it up so quickly! I also believe in playtime, not TV time. I love running around and playing with the kids in the park, or cooking with them if they are of age.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

Taking dance class, doing yoga with friends, riding my bike, cooking and listening to Edith Piaf.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Dancing and rehearsing at a dance company by day and taking care of a families' children by night.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Dance and creative movement is definitely number one. I love doing yoga with the kids and teaching them French, too. If they are of age, fun cooking projects are great as well!


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.