For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Nina K.

Education

New York University,
B.F.A in Dramatic Writing

University of Southern California,
Masters' of Arts in Teaching

Childcare Experience

Camp Counselor
Westwood, CA, 06/07 - 07/07
Eight boys and girls, ages 5-6

Nanny
Hollywood Hills, CA, 11/15 - 06/16
One boy and one girl, ages 8-9 and 10-11

Nanny
Burbank, CA, 08/15 - 07/16
One girl, age 2-3

Professional Experience

SAT/English Tutor and Teacher
Torrance, CA, 10/08 - 03/10

Hip Hop Dance Teacher
Torrance, CA, 09/09 - 07/10

Drawing and Dance Teacher
Torrance, Gardena, and Redondo Beach, CA, 10/09 - 06/10

Student Teacher
Montebello, CA, 09/10 - 07/11

K/1 and EK/K Classroom Teacher
Calabasas, CA, 08/11 - 03/13

RtI Teacher/SpEd Paraprof., 1st Grade Lead Teacher
Los Angeles, CA, 08/13 - 06/15

About me

My interest in working with children began about eight years ago, as a camp counselor and swimming coordinator. Besides enjoying my kids' silly personalities and unique spirits, I remember being profoundly impacted by the experience of nurturing them and watching them grow, even in the span of a few short months. Since then, I have worked with children as young as 2 and as old as 17 as a tutor, drawing and hip hop dance teacher, early elementary classroom teacher, and response to intervention teacher/special education paraprofessional.

As a teacher, I taught in a Reggio-inspired and Constructivist manner, and my philosophy as a childcare professional is similar in that I focus on caring for the whole child. I believe strongly in creating a deep and loving bond of mutual kindness and respect with each of the children I provide care for, and spend a lot of time getting to know her/his unique qualities and interests, learning about her/his individual needs, and providing care accordingly. This could look like having important conversations about how to socialize with peers, creating a structured and supportive environment, following the child's interests to do science and art projects about butterflies, or just plain joking around, playing, and having fun!

In general, I am a very creative and artistic person who loves animals. When working with children, I find that having a great sense of humor is key, and this sense of joy and laughter is evident in all the relationships I cultivate.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

writing (plays, children's books, fiction, and social justice-oriented opinion articles, mostly), reading, dancing, drawing, going to see plays, exploring strange and unusual parts of the city, learning how to cook Korean food, visiting art exhibits, and playing with my three pugs.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

a skilled writer and playwright, an accomplished dancer, a dog mom, and happily employed with a kind family with a sweet, quirky child (or sweet, quirky children).

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

arts and crafts, drawing and painting, science, singing, and dance.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.