For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Danika M.

Education

LaGuardia Performing Arts High School,
H.S. Diploma

Duke University,
B.A. in Sociology and Dance

Childcare Experience

Weekend Nanny
Durham, NC, 08/08 - 06/09
one boy, 8 months and one girl, age 6

Babysitter
Durham, NC, 09/10 - 08/11
one girl, age 4

After-School Mentor
Durham, NC, 08/12 - 08/13
one girl, age 13

Professional Experience

Dance Teacher and Office Administrator
Durham, NC, 09/08 - 05/12

Dance Teaching Artist
New York, NY, 09/12 - 06/13

Dance Teacher
New York, NY, 08/13 - Present

Dance Teaching Artist
New York, NY, 09/13 - 09/14

Dance Teaching Artist
New York, NY, 09/14 - Present

About me

As the child of artists, I developed an early passion for dance. After attending LaGuardia Performing Arts High School in Manhattan and Duke University in North Carolina, I began working as a teaching artist, bridging my devotion to the arts with my passion for engaging, nurturing, and inclusive education. I have seen the transformative power of helping children find their strengths and cultivate them. The joy and fulfillment that comes through a child's triumph-- triumphs big and small, are the reasons I love working with young people.

I have worked for various nonprofit arts and education organizations throughout New York City with elementary through high school students. This formal engagement has given me the skills and understanding of how to manage the needs of multiple children at a time, problem solve quickly, and help support young people intellectually, socially, and emotionally. I have also worked in private home settings, where the connections I have been able to make with children have been more personal and profound, acting as an additional adult providing support, structure, fun, and opportunities for exploration.

In addition to my love for spontaneous dance parties, I love to read, play sports, spend time outdoors, cook, and go to museums. It is important to me as I grow older to continue learning and exploring the world around me and I believe in imparting that thirst for knowledge to the children I work with.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

looking up a new recipe to cook or bake! I love extending my creativity to the kitchen and I find great reward in the simple pleasure of creating and enjoying yummy treats. Additionally, I love to be active so working out is one of my favorite hobbies allowing me to feel physically fit and mentally powerful.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

starting a family and becoming a mom

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

include reading, arts and crafts, healthy cooking, trips to museums, and fun science activities.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.