For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Kathryn B.

Education

Northwestern University,
B.S. in Social Policy
Dual Major in Gender & Sexuality Studies

Childcare Experience

Evening/weekend childcare provider
New York, NY, 09/13 - Present
Various families, 9 months - 11 years

Part-time Nanny
Evanston, IL, 01/12 - 07/13
Twin girls, 3 - 5 during this period.

YMCA Project Soar Mentor
Evanston, IL, 10/10 - 06/13
One girl; between 11-14 during this period.

Summer Camp Assistant, Center for Human Services
Shoreline, WA, 06/08 - 08/09
Between 20-30 2nd-4th graders

Professional Experience

Care Navigator, Institute for Family Health
New York, NY, 05/17 - Present

Special Projects Manager, Everytown for Gun Safety
New York, NY, 01/15 - 01/17

Legal Assistant, Center for Reproductive Rights
New York, NY, 08/13 - 01/15

About me

My name is Kathryn and I'm a Seattle native who has made Brooklyn home for the past four years. I'm an extremely reliable, engaged, and creative caregiver who is fascinated by child development. I enjoying playing with, teaching, and learning from kids of all ages, and have years of paid experience caring for children between the ages of four months to twelve years. I'm a strong communicator and will be a conscientious partner in caring for your children and ensuring that everything runs smoothly.

I'm currently working Monday-Friday 9-5 as a case manager at a health center that serves patients who are uninsured or on public insurance. In addition to this, I enjoy babysitting in the weekday evenings and weekends!

I'm a proponent of creative play, reading, and getting outside and getting active with kids. I have experience in tutoring and homework help, and work to make that as engaging (and painless) as possible. I'm also experienced with bedtime routines for kids of all ages. I'm a great fit for a family who is interested in teaching their child/children about consent and would like an environment that is free of imposing strict gender roles.

Looking forward to meeting you and your family!


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

Exploring restaurants, music venues, and book stores in all boroughs. Sweating at yoga and spin classes. Volunteering with the Doula Project as an abortion doula, miscarriage, and postpartum doula. Learning Portuguese was a 2016 New Year's Resolution that fell off a bit, and I'm committing to that in 2017!

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Working on a Masters in Nursing, with a duel Masters in Public Health or Midwifery.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

My absolute favorite thing to do with children is read! I also enjoy writing, creative play like dress up, excursions to the park or the beach, and anything active like playing basketball, tag, and hide & seek.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.