For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Marlene J.

Education

Florida Atlantic University,
B.A. in Communications & Minor in Sociology

Childcare Experience

Afternoon part-time nanny
Manhattan, New York, 08/16 - Present
boy 17 months

Nanny
Davie, FL, 03/13 - 08/16
One girl, age 7

Nanny
Davie, FL, 01/15 - 06/15
Six children ages 1-12, 2 boys and 4 girls

Nanny
Ft. Lauderdale, FL, 05/15 - 08/15
Two girls, ages 2 and 6

Nanny
Davie, FL, 10/15 - 08/16
Two boys ages 2 and 12, 1 girl age 4

Professional Experience

Aldo Sales Lead
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida, 07/14 - 11/14

Erge Footwear
Ft. Lauderdale, FL, 08/12 - 06/14

About me

Hello! I grew up in South Dakota and moved to Ft. Lauderdale, Fl. in the summer of 2010. Although I'm usually the first South Dakotan people have met, I did enjoy growing up there. It was nice to be able to ride my bike around town with friends, play in backyards, and be a free kid. As I've gotten older I have grown to appreciate how being raised in South Dakota has shaped me into who I am today. However, I did always know I wanted to travel and live elsewhere once I was old enough. That's why I moved to Florida for my undergrad years. I graduated at Florida Atlantic University in the summer of 2016. I have many interests, so I did struggle choosing a major! Everything has sounded interesting to me at some point. I ended up graduating in Communications and minoring in Sociology.

Throughout college I was nannying and working with special needs children. These years helped me find one of my passions which is helping people. Nannying has allowed me to help children in many ways. Whether it be with homework or learning to walk and talk, I feel like I have been of some help. Along with nannying, currently I am on a few nonprofit committees which allow me to be more active with global issues and making a difference. Some of them are children based organizations. I am very passionate on children being set up for success because they are the future.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

I enjoy reading, so there is a good chance when I am not babysitting I am at a Barnes and Noble. I also enjoy exploring the city- eating, checking out museums, site seeing.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

In 5 years I hope to have a more stable career path. Right now I am still learning and juggling multiple things to give me a more clear idea of what I truly want to be doing in my future. If I decide to go back to grad school I would hope to have that accomplished by 5 years from now.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love when I can teach children something knew. One family I worked for in the past had an amazing backyard with caterpillars and butterflies. I had a fun time teaching the kids about the caterpillar and butterfly process. We even saw some cocoons! Of course everything is different depending on the age group and the child. I have worked on colors, shapes, and spelling with some of the children I have helped in the past. I also have played basketball, attempted to teach some kids to ride their bikes, and have helped with swimming.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.