For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

JOHNMICHAEL B.

Education

University of Cincinnati,
B.A. in History of Art
Minor in Fine Arts

Childcare Experience

Mentor
Buffalo, NY, 08/13 - 08/14
Third/Fourth Grade

Live-in Nanny
Point Au Baril, Ontario, CA, 05/12 - 08/12
Boy 5, girl 8

Camp Counselor
Diamond Point, NY, 04/13 - 08/14
10-15 boys, age 8-13

Nanny
Brooklyn, NY, 10/14 - 11/15
Baby boy, 5 months

Professional Experience

Mentor
Buffalo, NY, 09/13 - 09/14

Counselor
Diamond Point, NY, 05/13 - 08/13

Teacher
Zhuhai, P.R. China, 09/12 - 12/12

About me

I am an educated fitness fiend who loves working with kids. I have been working with kids for as long as I can remember and am enraptured by their views of the world. I think that kids see the world in a way that is simply full of wonder. I have been a nanny in high school and studied Art Education in college. After spending time teaching in Asia (Southern China more specifically) and working as a mentor for third graders in Buffalo, NY, I have discovered that I do not want to be a teacher in the traditional sense. I enjoy working with children because they do have a passion for learning, but it is their intrinsic self guidance in their journey that I seek to feed and nurture. I enjoy aiding and fueling children's passions of self directed discovery.

I currently am in the process of trying to decide what to take on during my graduate studies as I have a wide array of passions myself. I am incredibly active, and manage to teach several aerobics classes during my spare time. I also love the arts and spend less time painting than I would like. Oil painting is my favorite medium, while I also enjoy printmaking and block making. I enjoy spending time outside and working with my hands. I have always found pleasure in making things and taking them apart. Truth be told, I think it is indicative of my kinesthetic learning style.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

Usually at the gym working out, outside biking or running, or enjoying one of the many fine restaurants in the city. I am 100% addicted to running. There is no feeling like it. I would like to say that I paint more than I do but it is something I am working to bring back into my life.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Ideally I will be working in the Educational Department of some large art museum. I see myself working to make art more accessible to the common venues of the world. I would love to design the curriculum that schools use when touring a museum. This would combine my passion for art and also my love of working with children.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love seeing children's creative sides flow. I enjoy teaching and guiding their learning process with artistic materials. I enjoying sharing my passion for fitness and healthy life styles as well.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.