For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Tanisha M.

Education

Douglas Anderson School of the Arts,
Dance

Florida State University,
BFA Music Theatre

Childcare Experience

Dance Teacher
Jacksonville, FL, 05/11 - 08/12
Girls, ages 6-10

Day-Time Child Care Councelor
Chontala, Guatemala, 03/12 - 12/13
Boys and girls ages 3-13

Camp Counselor (Dance)
Jacksonville, Florida, 05/11 - 08/13
Boys and Girls, Ages 4-13

Dance Instructor (Conservatory)
Tallahassee, Florida, 08/14 - 06/15
Girls, Ages 3-12

Masterclass Dance Instructor
Across the US, US, 04/16 - Present
Boys and Girls ages 10-18

Part-Time Babysitter
North Bergen, New Jersey, 06/16 - Present
One girl, age 4

Professional Experience

Sales Associate
Jacksonville, Florida, 05/10 - 08/13

Ballet Conservatory Instructor
Tallahassee, FL, 08/14 - 06/15

Vocal Master Class Instructor
San Jose, Costa Rica, 03/15 - 04/15

Hostess
New York, New York, 01/16 - 07/16

Barista
New York, New York, 05/16 - Present

Actor
New York, New York, 05/15 - Present

About me

My name is Tanisha! I am a Florida native, and a musical theatre performer based in New York City.

My love for children actually started when I began to teach dance. In high school, I started to teach at a very beginning level through the dance studio I was training at. That led to many more teaching and childcare opportunities which allowed me to work with children ages 3-12 years old.

With my childcare roots stemming from the arts, it became very clear to me very quickly how important it was to understand each child's individual needs. Dancers are a far more literal example of this because every dancer's body is obviously so different. But, having to take the time to assess the outer differences easily transferred to understanding each child's personality and ultimately, what kind of attention they need personally.

My philosophy is that it's much easier to get to know someone (especially children) once you've made them comfortable enough to fully be themselves. Learning what tone, energy, and gestures make a child comfortable has been the best way that I've found to learn how to both care for and discipline children properly.

My other hobbies include watching my alma mater in just about every sport (Go Noles!), cooking, and photography- mostly, just for collecting memories. So basically; family, food, and football!


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

Dancing, singing, or watching movies with friends!

In 5 years, I hope to be...

a Broadway performer in New York City.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Anything to expand a child's creativity!


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.