For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Leslie G.

Education

SUNY University at Albany,
B.A. in Linguistics

CUNY Hunter College,
Completed 2 1/2 years of coursework

SUNY College at Old Westbury,
General Education. 4.0

Childcare Experience

Full time Nanny
Manhattan, , 06/17 - 11/17
Two boys. Ages: 4 and 19 months

One-to-One Aide & Day care Assistant
Plainview, , 10/10 - 03/13
Various. 5 months-5 years. Primary experience: 2-3

Full time Babysitter
Manhattan, , 01/15 - 04/17
One boy, aged 6. One girl aged, 4

Professional Experience

Daycare Assistant
Plainview, NY, 08/10 - 03/13

Teacher Assistant
Plainview, NY, 10/10 - 03/13

About me

As a dynamic individual I've enjoyed various forms of employment throughout my life but, my favorite has always been with childcare services. From a young age, I Ioved serving as a role model and continue to do so as an adult. Children are an integral part of our society and I take my time spent with them seriously. It is much more than a job to me. I love being a source of inspiration for them, and they often do the same for me. It is a mutually beneficial relationship.

My philosophies on childcare focus on three key aspects. First and foremost, children should be led by great example and it is crucial that their caregiver understands that they are part of the foundation for their success. Secondly, I believe that children should remain autonomous but, with limitations. Children need independence but, also someone to help them successfully navigate their world. This requires compassion, respect, and boundaries which establishes a healthy balance. Lastly, I believe that they need variety in order to help them develop physically, cognitively, emotionally, and socially.

As the oldest of five children my childcare experience began at an early age. Beginning in 2010, I worked at the Association for Children with Down Syndrome for three years. Lastly, I began working as a nanny in 2015, here in NYC. As a result, I've accumulated 7 years of professional childcare experience.

My passions are singing and fitness. My hobbies include reading and appreciating the culinary and cultural aspects of NYC. These activities benefit my role as a caregiver because I am a well rounded, intelligent individual with a zest for life. I seek to teach, inspire, and have fun with what I do.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

Reading, exercising, or exploring NYC's parks, museums, restaurants, festivals, movies, etc.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

In 5 years I hope to be a professional singer and well seasoned athlete.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Three main activities and skills I love to teach and share with children are reading, visiting parks and museums, and various crafts which include baking, art, and puzzles. As an avid reader myself, I find immense joy in sharing this hobby of mine. Although children have different interests, I have yet to meet a child who doesn't appreciate a good story. I pride myself on doing so with enthusiasm: Utilizing various voices to spark their interests, asking questions to stimulate problem solving, and responding to their inquiries. I enjoy exploring NYC with children because I believe they need variety and different experiences stimulate mental, emotional, and social growth. Baking and arts and crafts in general build fond memories and improve children's listening skills, and fine motor development.


© 2018 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.