For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Kyndal J.

Education

Fordham University,
B.A. in Social Work
Minor in Humanitarian Affairs

Childcare Experience

Part-Time Babysitter
Santa Maria, CA, 03/12 - 08/13
Twin boys, ages 6 months-2.5 years

Part-Time Babysitter
Arroyo Grande, CA, 03/13 - 08/13
Two boys, ages 3 years and 0-5 months

Community Center Leader
Arroyo Grande, CA, 02/11 - 08/13
12-30 children, 1st grade

Part-Time Babysitter
New York, NY, 10/13 - 05/15
One boy and one girl, ages 1-3 and 3.5-5 years

Nanny & Personal Assistant
New York, NY, 05/14 - 05/16
One girl, age 3-5

Part-Time Babysitter
New York, NY, 05/15 - 12/16
Two girls, ages 1-2.5 and 0-7 months

Professional Experience

Pediatric Intern at Bronx-Lebanon Hospital Center
New York City, NY, 08/16 - 05/17

Office Intern at St. Rita's Center for Immigrants
New York, NY, 05/16 - 09/16

About me

I grew up in a large family with four siblings and that started my love of working with children. I have worked with children of all ages, ranging from newborns all the way up to high schoolers. I love being around children and families, and taking initiative in any way that I can. I enjoy having fun and being around children - I usually let them determine the activities while I structure the time.

I began babysitting at the age of 13 for families doing date night babysitting. From age 15 onwards, I worked with first graders at a local community center, and I worked with multiple families. The first family I worked with had twin boys, one with Autism, and I worked with them for over a year and a half (beginning when the boys were 6 months old). I also worked with a second family in California with two sons for a couple of months.

When I moved to New York, I did part-time babysitting for a family with two children (ages 1 and 3.5 when I started). I worked with them for almost two years until they moved. I then worked as a full time nanny (during the summer) and personal assistant for a family with one child. I was with them for two years. Most recently, I worked with a family with two daughters for a year and a half. One of the children was 1-year-old when I began working, and the second daughter was born a year after I had started. I worked for 6-7 months babysitting both children regularly.

I swam for 14 years competitively and I love anything that involves water or sports. I have a passion for learning which has carried me through my high school and college career, and I love encouraging a sense of wonder and creativity in children. The intelligence (intelligence to be used in multiple contexts) of children constantly blows me away - and I feel honored that I have been a part of some very special families in my time as a babysitter and nanny.

Reading is my favorite hobby - and being around people is my passion. I am currently reading "Harry Potter" in French, among other books. I love yoga, running, traveling, and being around friends and family. I am a social work major and pre-law so I am currently interning at a hospital and working on various projects including helping to lead an after school program for adolescents and doing community outreach and engagement.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

running, doing yoga, hanging out with friends, reading, or planning my next travels. :)

In 5 years, I hope to be...

a practicing MSW and studying law!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

reading, music, sports, studying, my swimming abilities, arts and crafts, French language skills.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.