For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Kate B.

Education

Fordham University,
Master of Education in Mental Health Counseling

University of Pittsburgh,
B.A. in English Writing: Creative Nonfiction
B.A. in Film Writing

Childcare Experience

Full-Time Nanny
New York, NY, 06/11 - 03/13
Boy, age 8

Part-Time Nanny
Brooklyn, NY, 05/14 - 02/15
Girl, age 1

Full-Time Nanny
New York, NY, 02/15 - 11/15
Two boys, ages 2 and 4, one girl, newborn

Part-Time Nanny/Part-Time Babysitting
Brooklyn, NY, 08/14 - Present
Two boys, ages 1 and 3

Full-Time Nanny/Part-Time Babysitting
New York, NY, 08/13 - Present
Boy, age 4

Full-Time Nanny
New York, NY, 12/15 - Present
Girl, age 3

Professional Experience

Part-Time Administrative Assistant
New York, NY, 06/11 - 02/15

Barista
Brooklyn, NY, 05/11 - 06/12

About me

Growing up with two younger brothers marked the beginning in my childcare experience. I would help prepare meals, read stories, and come up with imaginative games to play with them -- and had a great time doing so! The enjoyment in helping with my brothers led me to begin babysitting as a teenager, and working as a camp counselor over summer vacations.

Professionally, I have been nannying in New York City now for over five years and have loved working with many diverse families in both Manhattan and Brooklyn, and caring for children from newborns to almost-teens. I maintain strong relationships with families I have previously worked for, and continue to babysit on occasional nights and weekends, because it is important to me to stay in touch with the children with whom I have built strong relationships!

My undergraduate degrees in Creative Writing and Film Studies lend well to imaginative play with children, as I love harnessing my inner creativity to develop engaging games, art projects, and stories. I am currently obtaining a Master of Education degree in Mental Health Counseling and use the skills I have learned to incorporate developmentally- and age-appropriate modes of play which also harness growth and learning. I am enthusiastic about doing everything from finger painting to museum outings, diaper changing to potty training, letter recognition to homework help, and playground adventures to Central Park picnics. After years of working with children, I have found that the best work environments come from creating an open, yet structured space in which the children feel safe and understood, and where fun and exploring are at the forefront of the time we spend together.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

Spending time with my friends, family, or classmates; studying; painting or reading; traveling; exploring museums, book stores, and coffee shops throughout the city.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

A practicing mental health counselor in New York City, hopefully specializing in working with families and children; and spending my free time traveling around the world.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Creative projects of all kinds including painting, drawing, crafts, make-believe games, building, reading, etc.; exploring the city while keeping in mind the child's particular interests (such as theme-related story times or museum exhibits); appreciating nature through scavenger hunts in the park, and visits to local playgrounds; counting and learning the alphabet, along with number and letter recognition; spelling and tracing letters; and implementing specialized learning techniques which spark the interest of each child.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.