For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Katie N.


Iowa State University,
B.S. in Nutrition and Food Science

Childcare Experience

After-School Babysitter
New York, New York, 03/17 - Present
Girl, age 8

Summer Nanny
New York, NY, 06/13 - 08/13
Girl, age 3; Two boys, ages 5 and 6

New York, NY, 09/13 - 12/14
Boy, age 3 months - 16 months

Summer Nanny
New York, NY, 06/15 - 09/15
Boy, age 3; Girl, age 5

Family Assistant
Brooklyn, NY, 12/15 - 01/17
Girl, age 5; Boy, age 9

Professional Babysitter for multiple families
New York, NY, 06/13 - Present
Ages 3-10

Professional Experience

Health Writer
Remotely, , 04/12 - Present

Dietary Aide
Ames, IA, 03/07 - 03/10

Restaurant Manager
Des Moines, IA, 04/10 - 08/11

Cork, Ireland, 08/11 - 05/13

About me

Growing up with a younger brother and having young cousins around marked the beginning of my childcare experience. The enjoyment in helping with my family led me to begin babysitting as a teenager. In high school, I took a First Aid for Babysitters course at my local City Hall and began babysitting regularly for families in the neighborhood.

Professionally, I have been nannying in New York City for nearly five years and have had the pleasure to work with many different families in Manhattan and Brooklyn. I have cared for children ranging in age from newborns to teenagers. I have held positions as a nanny, family assistant and after-school sitter. In addition, I have taught healthy eating classes to children and volunteer my time at a local non-profit educating young girls about the importance of health, fitness and positive self-esteem.

I believe strongly in creating a deep and loving bond of mutual respect and kindness with each of the children I care for. I have found that creating a structured and supportive environment is key for children to feel safe and understood so they are free to be themselves. I encourage creativity, curiosity and fun of all kinds! Whether it’s exploring the park, painting or acting out stories - I love sharing these moments with children.

I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Twins
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

Cooking, writing health articles, reading, training for my next marathon, doing yoga or exploring museums.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Inspiring others to discover their empowerment in the kitchen and in their health through my private nutrition consulting practice. I’d love to educate children and families about healthy eating in a way that’s fun and delicious!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Creative projects such as painting, drawing, reading, writing, crafts and cooking. I also love having dance parties, playing board and card games and having imaginative play. I believe kids should get outside as much as possible, so if the weather is nice - I like to be at the park or playground.

© 2018 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.