For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Katherine C.

Education

Marymount Manhattan College: NY, NY.,
B.A. in English and World Literatures
Communications

Childcare Experience

Nanny
New York, NY, 10/12 - 06/17
One girl (8), two boys (11,12).

After-School Babysitter
New York, NY, 08/12 - 08/13
One boy (8)

After-School Babysitter
Rome, GA, 06/09 - 08/12
One girl (2), two boys (4,7)

Professional Experience

Tutor
New York, NY, 08/12 - 06/17

About me

I'm a small town girl that fell in love with New York City at first sight. I moved to NYC to study English at Marymount Manhattan College on the UES. I live on the UWS in an apartment lined with books. I am passionate about reading, visiting museums, traveling, and good food and good company. I have been continually inspired by my work with children, and hope to pursue a graduate degree in Childhood Education.

Having started as a mother's helper at the age of 11, I've developed through all of the stages of caregiving with a wide rang of ages from infant to young adult. I have found every experience unique, from years of part-time babysitting in the suburbs, to 4.5 years of full-time nannying in NYC. Our city has so much to offer children and I'm fascinated with the lively adventures NYC brings out for them. I find myself to be calm and levelheaded when managing multiple children and enjoy the challenge of keeping everyone safe, happy, and healthy! I am a proficient swimmer, skier, and tennis player with a valid passport and drivers license. I love spending time in the imaginative world of children. They truly are a wonder.

I have always been a kind, and gentle caregiver, but I jump at the chance to play games, sing songs (my current charges and I almost have all of Hamilton memorized!), read a book, or stroll through the park. I'm full of life, and genuinely enjoy the company of little ones! They have so much to say when we sit down and really listen to them. There is no greater reward for a nanny than to watch as the children grow and actualize their dreams as we help and cheer them along!


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

When I'm not babysitting during the week or on my day off, I'm usually reading, practicing the piano (a new hobby that I've picked up since I've graduated), exploring a museum, or just relaxing at home. During my time off I like to travel, hike, camp, ski, play tennis, and spend time with family.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

I hope to make full-time 2+ year commitment with my next family. However, I'm also hoping in the next year or two to begin working on my masters degree in Childhood Education. I plan to attend night school part-time over the next few years and upon graduation, finish up my nannying career to begin teaching elementary school in New York City.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

My passion for reading has been a joy to share with children. With my younger charges, it brings tears to my eyes as they come home from school with new knowledge on how to sound words out and I love to encourage young readers to read the words that are all around us! it is so important for children to experience reading in a variety of ways, and I'm currently working through Harry Potter with my 7 year old charge. She loves the accents that I use for different character and she loves getting to read a page or two each chapter. With older children, I love working with them to help them discover their favorite genre and then generating a reading list from that. I also enjoy sharing movies with children, my favorites from when I was a child, or especially watching the movie version of a book that I suggested to them!


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.