For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Tara M.

Education

CUNY Hunter College,
B.A. in Psychology

Childcare Experience

Nanny
Los Angeles, CA, 02/16 - 10/16
6 month-old

Nanny
Seattle, WA, 08/14 - 03/15
One boy, age 2, One girl, age 8 months

Part-time Babysitter
Long Island, NY, 12/13 - 08/14
One boy, age 4 months

Nanny
New York, NY, 08/11 - 08/13
One girl, age 5, One boy, age 4 weeks

Professional Experience

Substitute TA and paraprofessional
Long Island, NY, 12/13 - 07/14

Facilitator at Project C.A.R.E ropes course
Long Island, NY, 05/05 - 08/14

Behavioral Therapist
Los Angeles, CA, 11/15 - 07/16

Yoga/ Rock Climbing instructor
Carbondale, CO, 05/15 - 08/15

About me

Hi there! My name is Tara, and I have been working with children for over twelve years. I graduated from CUNY Hunter College in New York City with a B.A. in Psychology. I've been a nanny for over seven years with a number of different families in New York, Seattle, and Los Angeles.

Over the years I've worked as a nanny, I've learned about many different approaches to parenting. I will always commit to the form that works best for you and your family. I have cared for children in all stages of development from infants to teens. I am very comfortable changing diapers, preparing meals and feeding. And I know how to get kids excited about bath time or calm and relaxed and ready to sleep.

Working with kids is my passion and brings me the most joy in life. In addition to nannying, I have also worked as a teacher's assistant and paraprofessional in schools for children with special needs, and as a behavioral therapist for children with low functioning autism, applying Applied Behavioral Analysis therapy to help change problem behaviors.

Three years ago I worked as a mindful educator in Mission Be, a program that brings mindfulness practices such as yoga and meditation to elementary schools in New York. Shortly after, I became a certified yoga teacher.

Last summer, I taught yoga and rock climbing to children with Autism Spectrum Disorder at a summer camp in Colorado. This was one of the most challenging experiences of my life but it taught me so much.

I'm CPR/First Aid certified and worked as a lifeguard for several years as a teenager and college student.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

I am a stand-up comedian here in Los Angeles and also love to hike and do yoga.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Los Angeles is a beautiful place and I would love to still be living here!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love being active, as do most kids, so a lot of the time the children really enjoy it when I do yoga with them. I have been told I have great patience so that is always something I enjoy teaching and sharing with children by example,


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.