For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

BreAnna R.

Education

University of North Dakota,
B.A. in French

Childcare Experience

Full-Time Summer Nanny
Oxford, ME, 05/09 - 08/09
1 year (boy), 3 years (girl)

Full-Time Summer Nanny
Grand Forks, ND, 05/12 - 08/12
5 years (boy), 7 years (girl), 9 years (boy)

Weekend Babysitter
Chicago, IL, 10/15 - 06/16
3 years (girl), 7 years (boy)

Part-Time Babysitter
Chicago, IL, 06/15 - 06/16
3 months (boy), 2 years (boy), 4 years (girl)

Temporary Full-Time Nanny + Part-Time Babysitter
New York, NY, 02/17 - Present
16 months (girl), 5 years (boy)

Professional Experience

Blogger
New York, NY, 10/14 - Present

Executive Assistant & Operations Coordinator
Chicago, IL, 01/14 - 10/14

Executive Assistant & Marketing Coordinator
Chicago, IL, 11/14 - 06/16

About me

My childcare experience all started over a decade ago when my high school English teacher asked me if I was available to watch his kids over the summer. I jumped at the opportunity because I thought, "What could be better than spending my summer at the pool and park with kids?"

Since then, not much has changed when it comes to my love for kids! I've worked with 3-month-olds to 16-year-olds, and no matter the age, I find that kids are always teaching me something new. I love that kids can both challenge and inspire me at the same time!

This past year, my husband and I left our life in Chicago to move to New York City, but before planting our roots in the Big Apple, we spent 3 months volunteering in Africa where we taught children living in extreme poverty. Although these kids were living in situations that I couldn't even begin to fathom, I found one thing to be true: kids are the same all over the world. They are full of light even in darkness, and they bring a joy to this life that not many other things can do. And that is why I love working with kids!

As a caretaker, I love having fun with kids while also keeping things educational. I always keep safety in mind and it's important for me to be on the same page as parents when it comes to their children. I am a very open communicator and am typically very flexible, which I think is very important when it comes to kids because sometimes things just don't go as planned!


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen

I will be SmartSitting while...

Blogging! I love writing and experimenting with photography. I also have a passion for helping people and my blog allows me to do that. And when I'm not blogging, you'll probably find me chatting with my gal pals over coffee.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

My own boss! I started selling tie-dyed t-shirts to my classmates when I was 12 years old and have had the entrepreneur bug ever since. I'd love to own my own business and can totally see myself opening up a consignment store. I'll also likely be thinking of starting my own family around then.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love to be creative and let kids' imaginations soar! With older kids, I'm all about putting on fashion shows, concerts, or even creating our own music videos. With the younger ones, I love being able to help them grow by encouraging them to explore the world around them - whether that be walks through the neighborhood pointing out everything they see or even having them help in the kitchen at home, talking through the cooking process step by step and letting them join in.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.