For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Joanclair R.

Education

UC Santa Cruz,
BA Environmental Science

Childcare Experience

Babysitter
Los Angeles, CA, 03/16 - Present
Newborn and 9 year old

Babysitter
New York, NY, 09/14 - 01/16
Children ages 3-11

Professional Experience

Substitute Afterschool Teacher
South Pasadena, CA, 02/17 - Present

Children's Climbing Instructor
Arcadia, CA, 06/10 - 09/13

About me

When I was a teenager, I was looking for a part time job to keep me busy in the summers. I started babysitting in my local town because I knew I was good with children. By the first 3 months, I had a rotation of 3 families and have keep babysitting as a part-time gig since then. Now, babysitting is an activity that I like to think keeps me young at heart.

I have extensive experience looking after newborns all the way up to high school students and feel comfortable with all of those ages. I am CPR-certified and am familiar with outdoor safety. Along with home care, I have worked in an educational setting with elementary and middle school students. I currently substitute teach at an after school program, engaging children in interactive play, arts and crafts as well as helping with homework assignments. I feel comfortable cooking, driving children and late nights. I have also worked at a rock-climbing gym with children on the rocks for the first time and more regular climbers.

When I am looking after a child, I believe in establishing a transparent and fun setting. I require clear communication with the parents about house rules, allergies and food preferences and preferred methods for discipline. I prefer interactive time with children rather than TV and movie watching although I can recommend a great deal of good children's movies, new and old.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

Working to protect the environment, both in work and in activism. I like to be outdoors and practice yoga.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Working full-time at my own business of environmental consulting and with some children of my own on the future horizon.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

With children, I love to read, back, rock climb (lead-certified), and arts and crafts (clay is very fun!).


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.