For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Kaitlin F.

Education

Wake Forest University,
Undecided

New York University,
BA in Psychology
Minor in Child and Adolescent Mental Health

Childcare Experience

Occasional Babysitter / Full-Time Summer Nanny
Tolland, CT, 08/08 - 02/15
Twin girls, 1 month old; boy, age 2

Occasional Babysitter
Suffield, CT, 02/09 - 05/16
Boy, age 4; Girl, 6 months old

Daycare Teacher
Tolland, CT, 08/11 - 08/14
Ages 3-11

After-School Babysitter
New York, NY, 02/14 - Present
Two boys, ages 4 and 6

Professional Experience

Philosophy Department Assistant
Winston-Salem, NC, 01/13 - 05/13

About me

First and foremost––I LOVE kids. I always have. Creativity, openness, compassion, and humor are things I value very highly. These are things that kids understand much better than most adults. I also love the idea of being somebody who helps children achieve their dreams and grow into the best versions of themselves. I am very aware that every child is entirely unique and in extension success means something different for each individual kid. Another reason I love (and am good at) babysitting/nannying is that I am in many ways a kid at heart. I have a ridiculous amount of energy and passion for life. I love learning new things, and just being silly. For all of these reasons, I would generally rather spend time with children than people my own age. It is fun for me, but also fulfilling; I like knowing I am making a difference in a child's life.

I really love writing (and am currently working on a book), so helping with English homework as well as just making up stories is something I really enjoy. Music is another passion of mine. I like singing and dancing with kids. In general, I have a strong interest in the arts and like sharing this with the kids I babysit. New York is my favorite place in the world and I know the city very well, so I also enjoy being able to take kids to cool locations around town. My ultimate goal as a nanny is to help children grow and broaden their horizons, while encouraging them not to take life too seriously.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

I love painting and playing guitar, so in my free time I am often writing new songs and working on various art projects. Writing is my main passion. I like to work on the book I am currently writing and also love poetry. I am a HUGE Harry Potter fan and am re-reading the series right now...for the fifth time! I really enjoy traveling when I have the time, and often go camping for the weekend upstate.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

I am taking time off from graduate school. I may want to continue eventually, but not in the near future (at least two years). I have a strong desire to eventually work with disabled children and those from a low socioeconomic background. I do also want to write in some capacity. I see myself staying in New York and working wherever I feel I can make the biggest difference.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I like to cook and bake, and this is SUPER fun to do with kids at any age. I have experience with many types of cooking, including keeping a Kosher kitchen. As I mentioned, I love writing and enjoy sharing this with kids. I am also a total bookworm, so with older kids, I like discussing literature. With younger children I am passionate about helping them develop a love for reading.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.