For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Shayla H.

Education

City College,
B.A. Art History

Childcare Experience

After-School Babysitter
New York, NY, 01/18 - 06/18
Boy, age 9

After-School Babysitter
New York, NY, 01/17 - Present
Boy, age 6

Part-Time Babysitter
New York, NY, 09/16 - 12/16
Boy-girl twins, age 5 and girl, age 3

After-School Babysitter
New York, NY, 07/14 - 08/16
Two boys, ages 5 and 6

Assistant Soccer Coach
New York, NY, 10/15 - 05/16
Under 5 & Under 12 Boys Pre-Travel

After-School Art Teacher
Port Jefferson, NY, 08/13 - 06/14
Kindergarden to 5th Grade

Therapeutic Summer Camp Counselor
Springfield, VT, 06/12 - 08/13
Ages 5 and 6

Professional Experience

Volunteer, LSA Health Services
New York, NY, 11/17 - Present

Lincoln Center PR Intern
New York, NY, 09/17 - 12/17

Digital Marketing & Gallery Intern
New York, NY, 02/17 - Present

Volunteer, MoMA
New York, NY, 06/16 - Present

Volunteer, Jewish Museum
New York, NY, 11/16 - 02/17

Research Assistant, NYU
New York, NY, 02/16 - 02/17

About me

I have been babysitting since I was thirteen, starting with my little sisters and neighborhood children. Because of this, taking care of young children has always come naturally to me. Throughout my seven years of experience I have been lucky enough to work with every type of child ranging from newborn twins to multiples under 5 and preteens!

When working with children I always try to incorporate my interests in history, foreign language, and art. Some of my fondest memories are trying to learn German phrases over chicken fingers & french fries, flying through BrainQuest flashcards in Central Park, or wondering through the Natural History Museum. My background in art has also helped me with many arts & crafts projects! I love teaching new creative skills and nurturing an open mind—values I learned as a summer camp kid at the Maryland Institute College of Art! I have found that sharing stories of my own childhood (ex. horseback riding, sleepaway camp, flying unaccompanied) is a useful tool for me when encouraging kids to try new things.

I'm working on my B.A. in Art History with extensive coursework in Studio Art, Psychology, French, and Arabic. Working as an after-school babysitter and nanny since I was eighteen has given me a strong work-ethic and I pride myself in being able to balance my academics and social life with a professional working commitment to busy families. As a college student I'm always trying new things and exploring new interests which lends itself well to babysitting since children are always on the move and things are always changing!


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

Reading, yoga or Pilates, gallery hopping, going on a hike, or working on my own art.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Graduated with a Master's in Art Therapy

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Arts & crafts, soccer, reading, and learning about new cultures/languages.


© 2018 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.