For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Allison D.

Education

Stella Adler School of Acting,
Summer Conservatory Diploma

Western Carolina University,
B.F.A. Musical Theatre

Childcare Experience

Evening/Weekend Babysitter
New York, New York, 08/19 - Present
Two Boys, Ages 9 and 7 + One Girl, Age 2.5

Full-Time Nanny
New York, New York, 05/19 - 08/19
Two Girls, Ages 3 and 7 months

After-School Babysitter, Date Night Sitter
New York, New York, 05/17 - 06/19
Girl, Age 13 + Boy, Age 7

After-School Babysitter
New York, New York, 08/19 - 04/18
Girl, age 12 + Boy, age 8

Part-Time Babysitter
Atlanta, GA, 11/15 - 01/17
One boy, age 3

Date Night Babysitter
Atlanta, GA, 08/15 - 01/17
Two girls, ages 9 and 6

Part-Time Babysitter
Atlanta, GA, 09/16 - 01/17
Three girls, ages 6, 3, 1

Professional Experience

Georgia Aquarium - Performer
Atlanta, GA, 02/16 - 01/17

SAS Music - Piano/Voice Teacher
Atlanta, GA, 08/15 - 12/16

Stone Mountain Park - Performer
Stone Mountain, GA, 10/15 - 01/16

North GA Studio of Performing Arts - Voice Teacher
Rabun Gap, GA, 09/14 - 02/14

The Learning Center - Elementary Mentor/Tutor
Brewton, AL, 09/08 - 05/09

About me

I moved from Atlanta to New York City in 2016 and have enjoyed every moment of my New York adventure! Since graduating college, working with children has proven to be my greatest joy and passion. While living in Atlanta, I began teaching children of all ages how to sing and play the piano. l especially loved this experience because children thrive in creative environments. It was a blast to collaborate with them and to allow their ideas to flow freely. I've spent my time nannying for children of all ages. I've worked with infants, toddlers, and elementary to middle school aged children. I have found that I especially love infants and toddlers, but I happily work with children of all ages.

My nannying career began in Atlanta with short term commitments and date nights. As time went on, I did quite a bit of infant care work for a mother on maternity leave. Eventually, I found a family that I worked for regularly and I quickly became a part of their family. Their three year old son was and is still very special to me. We would spend our time going to the park, visiting the local train museum, taking trips to Legoland, and having tons of Chick-fil-a dates. I was with them for over a year before I moved to New York City. During this time, I realized that the toddler age is absolutely my favorite age! Since living in New York City, I have primarily worked with a family with three children, ages 4 months, 4, and 6-years-old. I spent most of my time caring for the infant who is now almost 3 years old. I went through all of her developmental milestones, learning to walk and formulating her own opinions, and even potty-training. I have also traveled with her from the Hamptons to Israel. During the summer of 2019, I worked as a full-time nanny with a family with two girls, a 1-year-old and 3-year old. Most of the time, I work one-on-one with them but there are times when I'll take them both out to the park, navigate putting one down for a nap while making sure the other is doing well, and feeding them, bathing them, and getting them both ready for bedtime. Additionally, I do a lot of temp work with SmartSitting working with numerous families where I am the go-to date night temp sitter. While in New York, I have also worked with a family with an 8-year-old and 10-year-old as an after-school pick up nanny. I would pick them up, give them a snack, help with homework, prepare dinners like salmon and steak, and get them into bed for the night. I feel confident in my experiences and am happy to accommodate any family's individual needs.

Over time I have learned that no matter the age of the child, patience is always the key to success. I have a very outgoing and warm personality, and I believe that my greatest strength is my adaptability and ability to "roll with the punches". I have a talent for learning the ropes very quickly and taking the lead when needed. I am not easily thrown off by the "oops" moments and always make the best of any situation. I have found that this ability often comes in handy when working with children. It is a personal joy to make a positive impact on children and I am grateful to have been given the opportunity.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

I am usually planning my next destination for travel and exploration with my boyfriend! In recent years, I have seen the greater part of the U.S., Cuba, Thailand and Israel! You can also find me in acting, voice or dance classes. I also enjoy spending time with my loved ones while exploring the city and catching live jazz performances. On Sundays, I enjoy attending church in Harlem and spending time catching up with friends afterwards. Currently, I am focused on making a transition from theatre performance to film acting. Wish me luck!

In 5 years, I hope to be...

...very busy and involved in the film industry! I hope to be well-traveled, a co-business owner, a homeowner, and a wife!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love to share the gift of music to children! Whether we are listening to music or singing together it is always great fun. There are some children who aren't so fond of singing and that's okay, too :-) I also enjoy creating new games as an activity! In my experience, children especially love this because they get to flex their creative skills and even more so when naming the game. It is also a lot of fun for them when they get to share the game with their siblings or friends!


© 2019 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.