For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Karishma P.

Education

SUNY University at Albany,
B.A. in Journalism

Childcare Experience

A New England Nanny
Albany, NY, 02/15 - 05/17
Infants - Teens

Our World Montessori
Niskayuna, NY, 08/14 - 01/15
Toddlers

Childhood Friends Inc.
Rotterdam, NY, 06/12 - 08/12
Toddlers - School Age

Professional Experience

Fashion Assistant
New York, NY, 05/17 - Present

Arts and Entertainment Writer
Albany, NY, 01/16 - 05/17

Fashion Writer Intern
Albany, NY, 01/17 - 05/17

Public Relations Strategy Intern
Albany, NY, 01/17 - 05/17

About me

I was 16-years-old when I got my first job working with children. I remember wanting a job as a hospital receptionist, but my school counselor who helped me said that all the spots were taken - so working at a summer camp was my only option.

And that was the best option for me.

That summer, I worked for a camp at a small preschool in Upstate NY. The ages ranged from toddlers to school aged. Although I love all ages, toddlers became my favorite age group because I naturally gravitated to them and vice versa. By the time summer ended and I was entering my senior year of high school, I realized that one of my best qualities was that I was a natural nurturer and I enjoyed providing love and care for children.

Since then, anywhere and everywhere I go I feel as if I could instantly connect with children. Once in college, I came across a small Montessori school in my area, "Our World Montessori". I applied and by the following week I began working as a teacher assistant.

I completely fell in love with the Montessori method, just because it made sense to me. Children were learning basic life skills and how to become independent. They learned things as simple as learning how to zip their jackets at 18 months, and how to put on and take off their indoor/outdoor shoes. It was amazing seeing how they could learn and do these things at such a young age. Also, they learned discipline and how to use inside voices, creating their own work space, and picking up their works when they were all done.

Since my time at the Montessori school, I've been babysitting and being a nanny while finishing up college and I love it!


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

Outside of childcare, I enjoy spending time with my family and friends. I love to shop, read books, and do yoga. Mostly, I enjoy listening to music during alone time and being outside in fresh air during the summer. I like to explore new places/scenery and take photos. For the most part I'm pretty laid back and enjoy the simple things in life.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

I'm a soon to be graduate from SUNY University at Albany - currently completing summer online courses. I will have a BA in journalism with experience in Public Relations as well. In 5 years, I hope to be successful career wise and living on my own. I aspire to either work in the magazine industry within fashion and beauty, or PR for a fashion/beauty company.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

One of my favorite things to do is reading. I believe in the power of books and words. Reading should be introduced and done as early as possible. Children absorb very quickly and when they read educational material, they learn faster and learn how to read at an earlier age. With infants, I love giving cuddles and singing lullabies and nursery rhymes. With toddlers/preschoolers I love to teach basic life skills such as: hand washing - which should be monitored - putting on their own jackets (Montessori Flip), putting on shoes, and learning how to wear their clothes correctly. Also, learning ABC's, 123's, colors, and shapes are necessary of course. Another thing is singing and playing musical instruments. At this age, they love this activity because it's fun, and I love it because it puts a smile on their faces. With school aged children, they are pretty much self sufficient. I love learning what games they like to play. In the past I've done science experiments such as making slime - they love it! I also help with homework: reading, writing, math (algebra and some geometry). When it comes to screen time, I believe that if the parent allows them it should be limited, and I go with the parent's rules.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.