How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Yesenia B.

Education

CUNY´s Baruch College,
B.A in Journalism
B.A in Communications

Childcare Experience

Part-time/ Weekend Babysitter
Hartsdale, New York, 09/18 - 02/19
One girl, 3 and one boy, 7

Occasional Babysitter
New York, NY, 12/18 - 02/19
Two girls, 1 and 4

After-School Babysitter
New York, NY, 10/13 - 01/19
Two boys, 10 and 12

Occasional Babysitter
New York, NY, 07/16 - 09/16
Two boys, ages 1.5 and 7

Part Time Babysitter
New York, NY, 01/15 - 05/15
One boy, 7 and a girl, 5

Teacher's Aide
New York, NY, 10/11 - 05/13
First grade

Professional Experience

Restaurant Hostess
New York, NY, 06/16 - 09/16

Sales Associate
New York, NY, 06/13 - 10/13

About me

My name is Yesenia (or Yessi), I grew up in Mexico and moved to the United States when I was nine. My favorite thing to do as a child was playing soccer in the streets with my friends or riding donkeys and horses at my mom's village where she grew up! While Mexico was great, I am very grateful to be living in the Big Apple and appreciate the many wonderful things this city has to offer.

I have been babysitting since I was fifteen. Initially, it was just my little cousins or family friends. During my last two years of high school, I was given the opportunity to become a teacher’s aide. Before I was a teacher’s aide, I took two courses on child development, and being able to personally see a child's mental, emotional, academic and physical development is truly enriching. Being in a classroom, you are exposed to a diversity of children with different personalities and the best part was to develop a relationship with each one of them.

One year later, I was honored to have the opportunity to work with different families with children of different ages, from infants to pre-teenagers. While a child can learn a lot from me, it was amazing that I could also learn so much from them. My longest position was five years, with two wonderful boys, whom were three and five when I first met them. While that was my longest held position, I have also worked with over eight families that have multiple children, twins girls, ages 2.5 and a seven year old girl. I have also worked with special needs children and children with developmental challenges. My experience also includes children with a variety of mild to severe allergies. Arranging playdates and fun activities for children is one of my favorite things but, my number one priority is safety and that the children needs are met.

As a communications major in college, I like to tell children that communication is very important in every situation, especially when there is a conflict. However, I also believe that leading by example is pivotal when taking care of children because they see through everything. I love to teach children the importance of responsibility while also creating an environment of learning through creativity and enjoyment.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

At the gym, with my family, reading at a cafe, strolling through Barnes and Noble's book shelves, or singing in my room!

In 5 years, I hope to be...

A journalist or a teacher.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love to teach children Spanish. I create a session where I must speak to them in Spanish only for an hour and they must try and respond to me in Spanish as well. I also love to share my knowledge about the history of the world and the different cultures we are surrounded by. One of my favorite activities I like to do with children is playing sports outdoors, going to park and riding bicycles or arts and crafts!


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.