For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Hillary L.

Education

Cornell University,
B.S. in Nutritional Sciences
09/12 - 05/16

Childcare Experience

Head Camp Supervisor
Rhinebeck, NY, 06/13 - Present
Seventy-five children, ages 4-14

Part-Time Babysitter
Garden City, NY, 06/12 - Present
One boy, 15 years old

Part-Time Babysitter
Ithaca, NY, 09/14 - 05/16
One girl, 8 years old

Part-Time Babysitter
Ithaca, NY, 12/15 - 05/16
Three children, ages 7, 10, and 16

Occasional Babysitter
Woodbury, NY, 09/09 - 06/12
One boy, age 6, One girl, age 9

Part-Time Babysitter
Woodbury, NY, 09/08 - 06/12
One girl, age 8

Professional Experience

Research Assistant for 4-H Healthy Living
Ithaca, NY, 02/14 - 12/15

Tutor
Ithaca, NY, 09/12 - 05/16

About me

Hi parents! My name is Hillary and I am a recent graduate from Cornell University. I received my Bachelor's in nutrition and will be applying to medical school in two years to become pediatrician.

While I worked with children throughout my life, it wasn't until I worked at Ramapo for Children that I began to truly understand why I loved it so much. Ramapo is a beautiful place with children of all backgrounds, experiences and ages. The immense exposure to conflicts, behavior management and success is something I never thought possible. Ramapo has not changed the way I look at children, but rather it gave me the tools I needed to understand why I love it. During training we learn that children show behaviors for two main reasons: unmet needs and lagging skills. If I am able to meet a child's need or teach them a skill, they can become their best self and align their behaviors with their aspirations.

This is why I work with kids. I want to allow all children to become their best selves, just as I am my best self when I interact with kids. I can act like a child and have fun. I can look silly and learn new things. I can take care of others and be my best self. I always ensure children are safe, both emotionally and physically, I can handle any behavior that comes my way, and I am ready to engage children and watch them grow.

Besides being silly and working with kids, I have many other interests. I love food and nutrition and enjoy making health meals and snacks. I also love being outdoors and going on hikes. Additionally, I was a member of an a cappella group at Cornell and can usually be found singing and harmonizing to the radio.

I love Disney and playing and singing, but I also have the maturity, intelligence and respect of an adult. I think this makes me the best kind of caregiver--one that can play in the mud, and make sure everyone stays safe and cleans up afterwards.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

studying, cooking, hiking or eating.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

on my way to becoming a pediatrician.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love sharing my knowledge with children! I enjoying teaching them new skills, games and lessons. When a child's face lights up after learning a new science word or how to put on their shirt, I know I am doing what I love.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.