For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Juliet M.

Education

New York University,
B.M. in Vocal Performance (Classical Emphasis)
09/11 - 05/15

University of Texas at Austin,
M.M. in Opera Performance
09/15 - 05/17

Childcare Experience

Group Counselor
White Plains, NY, 06/11 - 08/15
Twenty girls, ages 8-9

After-School Babysitter/Summer Nanny
New York, NY, 10/13 - 06/15
Twins, ages 9

Part-Time Babysitter/Occasional Nanny
Austin, TX, 10/15 - 05/17
One girl, age 13, One boy, age 8

Part-Time Babysitter/Occasional Nanny
Austin, TX, 01/16 - 05/17
One boy, age 1

Part-Time Babysitter/Occasional Nanny
Austin, TX, 08/16 - 05/17
One girl, age 7, One boy, age 5

Occasional Babysitter
Austin, TX, 12/16 - 05/17
Two girls, ages 4 and 1

Professional Experience

Costume Assistant
Elmsford, NY, 05/13 - 06/13

Voice and Piano Teacher
Edgewater, NJ, 08/14 - 04/15

Front of House Staff - East Side King Restaurant
Austin, TX, 09/15 - 09/16

Head Childhood Music Educator
Austin, TX, 08/15 - 05/17

About me

My name is Juliet and I am a born and bred New Yorker. I received my Bachelors Degree in Vocal Performance from New York University, and my Masters Degree in Opera Performance at the University of Texas at Austin. When I am not singing numerous high notes or belting show tunes, one can find me actively working with kids, which is something I have loved doing for almost 10 years. I have worked with kids, ranging from 6 months-13 years old, in various capacities from nannying to teaching to costume assisting, and everything in between!

Back in New York, I began my babysitting career working for the family next door, who had three young children at the time. At 14, I was thrown into the thick of it, learning how to change diapers, cook simple meals, and do all the necessary steps of typical bed-time routines. I instantly loved working for the family and wanted to expand my experience as soon as possible. I quickly became skilled in the art of last-minute activity planning, efficient bath time taking, and exuberant bed-time story telling. Since that first day, I have made it my mission to continue to work with kids, even when attending college and graduate school.

As someone who is pursuing a life in the arts, I wanted to expand my love for music and intertwine it with my passion for working with kids. Because of that, I applied and was hired to work at Elmwood Day Camp for 3 summers. I primarily worked with 20 fourth grade girls each summer, leading them to activities and helping them grow into more confident kids. Because of my high level of enthusiasm for performance, many of my girls would join the performance elective. I would get to help them shine on stage, which was always my highlight of each summer. After working at Elmwood, I continued on to work with kids ranging from 5-11 at Random Farms Theater Group in the costuming department, as well as with kids ranging from 5-13 at the Performing Arts Academy in Edgewater, NJ, as a private voice and piano teacher.

For the past two years, I worked as a head childhood music specialist at a Congregation. I taught younger kids numerous hebrew prayers and holiday songs. Although I love working as a nanny, being able to get large groups of kids at 9am on a Sunday morning excited about singing was the greatest gift I could have asked for.

One of my main priorities in life is being surrounded by interesting, exciting, and open-minded people, because they allow me to just be myself. I believe that is why I love working with kids, because they allow me to be energetic and artistic all the time. My belief is that all kids should be able to be themselves and pursue what they want to do, as long as they listen to the rules along the way that keep them safe and secure.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins

I will be SmartSitting while...

When I'm not busy running around with kids, I am working on opera and future repertoire, going rock climbing, checking out the best place to eat awesome food, perfecting my yoga practice, and enjoying time with my family and friends. I also would like to actively re-learn Italian this year, since it will come in handy for my opera singing later on.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

I hope to be actively performing as an opera singer internationally. I understand that opera is becoming a more rigorous field of work every year, but I will continue to work towards that goal. In the meantime, being able to work in childcare while pursuing this difficult career allows me to stay grounded. Working with kids often reminds me to not sweat about the small things and focus on the bigger picture. In general, kids just always know how to cheer anyone up :)

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I have become a more avid yogi these past few years, and I would absolutely love to teach kids cool yoga poses. With past families, the kids would want to do sun salutations before bedtime, and it helped them relax and fall asleep faster. As well as being someone who is pursuing a life in the arts, I am a trained vocalist and self-taught guitarist and would love to pass on some tricks of the trade, if they would like! On a more practical level, I have excellent organization skills and would be happy to work with children in creating a successful system for themselves so they can begin to become more independent.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.