For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Tamara B.

Education

Adult/Child/Infant CPR/ First Aid/AED certificate,
July 2017

Larks Song Academy,
Certified Life Coach
01/15

Taylor University,
B.A. in Psychology Pre-Med
09/09 - 05/13

Childcare Experience

After-School & Date Night Sitter
Brooklyn, NY, 05/15 - 06/17
One boy, age 6

Travel Nanny/Mothers Helper/Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 07/15 - Present
Twin boys, age 9 months, One girl, age 2 1/2

Nanny Share
Brooklyn, NY, 02/17 - Present
One boy, age 2 and One girl, age 2 1/2

Date Night Sitter
New York, NY, 10/15 - Present
One boy, 4 months-2yrs

Morning Babysitter
New York, NY, 09/16 - Present
One girl, age 7

Morning Babysitter
New York, NY, 01/16 - 04/16
Two boys, ages 8 months and 3 years

Professional Experience

Certified Life Coach
New York, NY, 12/15 - Present

Freelance Wellness Professional
New York, NY, 07/16 - Present

High School Cycling Instructor
New York, NY, 09/14 - 07/16

HealthCorps Coordinator
Bronx, NY, 06/13 - 07/15

About me

My name is Tamara, and I am a transplant from the midwest! After graduating with a college degree in psychology pre-med, I moved to New York to work in public health, which I currently do on a freelance basis. I have extensive childcare experience with children ranging from age newborn -3 years, have consistently cared for elementary aged children, and have interacted with pre teens and teens in school, mentoring, and extracurricular settings. I have years of professional experience in schools and faith based settings working with pre teens and teens as well as younger children. I've traveled internationally with families, assisted as a mother's helper, and cared for children solo. I am currently CPR/AED and first aid certified for infants, children, and adults. When with kids, I enjoy making music, talking and telling stories, reading, playing sports, making art, and exploring parks.

Some of my personal values include consistency, honesty, and kindness. I feel it is important to treat all people, especially children, with care and respect. I often ask children questions to learn what they know and feel about things. If there is a discipline issue, I speak calmly with them about the events that transpired. I think it is important to provide consistency in children's lives for their development, so I always put much care into matching the philosophies of the parents when I am working.

In my personal time, I take full advantage of all New York has to offer. Since moving here 4 years ago, I have learned the art of letterpress printing at the School of Visual Arts, and completed the improvisational comedy program at the Upright Citizens Brigade. I can be found riding my bike to the Bronx and back or playing my ukulele on a rooftop. I love to learn and share experiences with others, and New York is great place to do that as adults and as children!


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

Spending time with friends and neighbors, reading, going to shows, or doing something creative or active.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

a graduate of a masters program.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Creativity, discipline, grit, emotional intelligence, reading, painting, dancing, singing/music, how to handle frustration and disappointment, friendship, thoughtfulness, forgiveness, and humor.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.