For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Trevor R.


Texas State University - San Marcos,
BFA in Musical Theater

Childcare Experience

After-School Babysitter
New York, NY, 07/15 - 08/16
Two girls, ages 4 and 9

After-School Babysitter
New York, NY, 06/14 - 06/15
Two boys, ages 3 and 6

Professional Experience

Professional Kids Entertainment/
New York, NY, 01/16 - Present

Production Singer - Holland America Line
New York, , 02/16 - 12/17

Guest Entertainer - Norwegian Cruise Line
New York, , 04/13 - 06/16

K-12 Substitute Teacher
Nashville, TN, 09/13 - 08/14

About me

My first experience working in childcare started back when I was 11 years old. I babysat two children ages 5 and 7. It was one of the best summers of life where I learned the basics of responsibility and balanced interpersonal care. Since then, I have worked with children in various mediums including children's theater, a K-12 Substitute teacher, a professional birthday party entertainer with, and most recently, watching over two separate families on the Upper West Side of Manhattan.

I have been working professionally with children for the past 6 years. My first job out of college was working at Hersheypark as a singer/dancer. It was there that I had exposure to working with children of all ages. We were responsible for the meet-and-greet after the shows, and through that I met my first childcare family. I would watch two boys, ages 3 and 5 after my shows for the day and we developed a night time ritual of park excursions, museum trips and many outdoor activities.

When I lived in Nashville, I worked as a K-12 substitute teacher with the Metropolitan Nashville Public School system. It was through this whirlwind experience that I developed the finely tuned skills of class management and interpersonal communication that I still apply to my childcare work. I learned how to walk into a classroom and set clear expectations for the day and I realized the importance of children feeling safe and affirmed so that they are able to grow healthfully as students and individuals. Since moving to New York I've had a consistent family child care schedule with a 3 and 6 year old on the Upper West Side of Manhattan.

Most importantly, it is through my role as an uncle to my niece, that has really shaped how I approach children. I have learned that children need to be respected and valued for their character and whether they are family or not; they all deserve respect and encouragement to be their best selves!

I have professional child care experience with...

  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Twins
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

When I'm not in Far Rockaway at the beach or citibiking along the Hudson River, you can find me at a Broadway musical, ballet or opera. I love all that New York has to offer. I try to eat out at a different restaurant once a week and sample their menu. My current obsession is beets! I had the most amazing beetroot pasta in Tel-Aviv and now I eat them almost everyday. I love to plan excursions and trips where I get to experience other cultures and cuisines. I traveled solo for fifty days and went through New Zealand, Australia, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Israel, Jordan and Bulgaria. It was an incredible experience and something that I look forward to being able to do again in the near future.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

In five years I hope to be settled down with my own family living somewhere in the New York area. I will have hopefully just started my broadway career and have a fantastic work/life balance. I will have traveled all over Europe and South America and experienced the seven wonders of the world. In short, I hope to be settled and happy with a career I enjoy and quality friends and family in my life. 'Live simply, less is more and be kind' is my life philosophy.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Working as a professional children's entertainer with, I know basic kids magic and balloon animal making. It's always so much fun to teach them how to make their own balloon animals. It's a great way to connect with children and teach them vital human qualities such as patience, discipline and imagination. I also enjoy being outdoors and active so taking them to the park or on walks is a great way to expend positive energy. Implementing safety and precaution when outdoors is necessary to cultivate a sense of trust. I enjoy encouraging a sense of awareness of your surroundings and always safety first. I enjoy creative time with kids, whether that is drawing, coloring, listening or playing music. It's a great way to exercise a different part of the brain and to learn that creativity is a valuable life skill to sustain throughout life.

© 2019 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.