For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Gemma W.

Education

Hampshire College,
B.A in Media Studies
09/13 - 05/17

Childcare Experience

Part-Time Babysitter
New York, NY, 12/12 - 08/16
Two girls, ages 3 and 6 and One boy, age 8

Summer Babysitter
New York and Woodstock, NY, 05/15 - 08/15
One boy, age 11

Mother's Helper
New York, NY, 04/17 - Present
One boy, age newborn

Professional Experience

Photographer's Assistant
New York, NY, 05/14 - 09/14

Communications Intern
New York, NY, 06/15 - 09/15

Assistant Archivist
New York, NY, 07/16 - 09/16

Reporter
New York, NY, 12/12 - 08/13

About me

Hello! My name is Gemma and I’m a college graduate returning to her home city. Having grown up in Manhattan, and as an older sister by 10 years, babysitting has always been a natural part of life for me. Some of my earliest sitting experiences were taking care of my sister and her friends as my family’s de-facto nanny. I also worked as a counselor at Weeks of Discovery, a camp held during spring break for elementary school students on the Upper West Side. In high school, I worked as after school sitter for a wonderful family of three, as well as an occasional weeknight sitter for the younger siblings of classmates.

Since then, I have gained more experience caring for ages that range from infancy to adolescence in a variety of unique environments, and am well-versed in activities and games capable of engaging four and eight-year-olds alike. I believe reliability, adaptability, and patience are crucial qualities every caregiver must have. Additionally, I recognize the importance of compassion, open communication, and respect when building a relationship with a family.

I love working with kids because I get to see things from their point of view. I’m driven by children’s understanding of the world, and my desire to help them explore both it and themselves, as they go through the oftentimes confusing process of growing up.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

doing film or photo editing, reading, listening to a podcast, baking tarts, going to museums and galleries with friends, and spending time with my family.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

working on ad campaigns for non-profits, working on my own podcast or radio play, or teaching.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I was raised as a huge reader, and love to read aloud, or help children with story-telling. As an avid museum goer, history buff, and podcast listener, I’m great at getting kids engaged with history and culture in New York City. I love cooking and baking, and can play dolls and dress-up for hours. I also worked at a robotics camp, and can easily get into legos, science experiments, and brain teasers. I’m a frequent crafter, usually collage, clay sculpture, and stop-motion animation, which is always a hit with the kids. I speak intermediate Spanish, love swimming and am a master sandcastle builder/mermaid tail maker.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.