For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Katrina M.

Education

Sarah Lawrence College,
B.A. in Theatre
09/11 - 05/15

Childcare Experience

After-School Babysitter
New York, NY, 09/15 - Present
Two girls, ages 7 and 10

Part-Time Babysitter
New York, NY, 05/16 - 10/16
One girl, 18 months

Assistant Music Teacher
Yonkers, NY, 09/14 - 05/15
Multiple children, ages 6-10

After-School Tutor
Yonkers, NY, 09/14 - 05/15
Multiple children, ages 6 - 10

Part-Time Babysitter
Santa Monica, CA, 06/14 - 08/14
One girl, age 18 months

Professional Experience

Waitress
New York, NY, 11/15 - 05/16

Usher
New York, NY, 01/16 - Present

Cashier
Seattle, WA, 06/12 - 10/15

About me

I'm Katrina, and I'm an actor and childcare provider! I've been acting from a young age, and if you've ever seen movies or plays about actors, or been to an acting class, you know we're strange birds. In fact, maybe in that acting class you were asked to "be" a bird.

All that work of putting yourself in other people's/creature's shoes helps open your mind, so when I take care of children, we can both see the dragon that is about to trample our carefully made castle. My imagination was opened as a child by books and theatre classes, and today it stays opened by other kid's amazing thoughts and ideas. That is my favorite part of childcare-because I believe in the magic of the world, and I love meeting other people who believe the same. It just so happens that often those people are children!

I graduated from Sarah Lawrence College in 2015, and I've been acting and taking care of children ever since. It has been such a blessing for me, and I've enjoyed it so much. I've worked with kids from 4 months-12 years old, and enjoyed every age in between!

I currently work for a family with two girls, ages 9 and 12, and I also host playdates for them. During the summer, these girls go on vacation, and I've been with them on vacation for a short period of time. I've also worked with younger kids, around 3 years old, in a babysitting capacity, and I've worked with all elementary school ages in a professional capacity as an assistant music teacher/tutor.

Before this, I worked with toddlers and infants-between 4 months and 2 years. With kids that age, I love going outside to the parks. It is so fun to explore the world through their brand new eyes!

During college I worked as an assistant music teacher at a local elementary school, and I tutored elementary age children after school. I've also worked at camps, and gone with families on vacations, which were such amazing experiences! I would love to continue working with families in the city, as working with children is such a great passion of mine, and I'm confident that I can be a great asset to a family!


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen

I will be SmartSitting while...

Acting, working with my theatre company, reading, or exploring.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

A professional actor working steadily in the field.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love to read aloud to children and have them read aloud to me. For me, reading is the first way to tap into my imagination, and I get to see the worlds take place. But for some kids, it's easier for them to draw the imaginary worlds, or build them with blocks, or make them with dolls, and I love doing that as well. I think we lose a lot of imagination as adults, so I think it is very important to work with kids on the development and nurturing of their imagination. I also love to cook, and if the kids are interested/old enough to cook with me, so that we can make a nutritious and delicious meal together, then that is wonderful!


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.