For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Michelle P.

Education

Eugene Lang College The New School for Liberal Arts,
B.A. - Theatre Arts
9/10 - 5/14

Childcare Experience

After-School Babysitter
New York, NY, 03/17 - Present
One boy, age 13

Part-Time Babysitter
New York, NY, 10/16 - 01/17
Twin Girls, age 1 1/2

After-School Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 08/16 - 10/16
One girl, age 10, and Two boys, ages 6 and 4

Occassional Babysitter
New York, NY, 05/15 - 06/16
One girl, age 9

Professional Experience

Hostess
Los Angeles, NY, 06/11 - 08/11

Server
New York, NY, 10/11 - 01/12

Resident Adviser
New York, NY, 05/12 - 08/12

Barista
New York, NY, 10/12 - 01/15

TKTS Representative
New York, NY, 06/14 - 05/17

Associate
New York, NY, 06/14 - Present

About me

I'm originally from Los Angeles and moved to New York for college. I studied literature and theater at The New School, graduating a year early, and I'm very proud of that. Now, I'm an actor, I work in production for theater, and I used to costume design, so I love to do anything related to the arts. I also used to intern at Jazz at Lincoln Center. I really do like a wide variety of music, but I love seeing live jazz.

The children I have babysat attach to my creative side. I think I do a great job at using my creativity to help encourage children to think creatively and be unafraid to take chances and try new things. I've read many books on raising children from birth to adolescence, and I enjoy using what they have taught me in daily activities to engage the kids I spend time with. I think in learning about childhood development, I have built a steady foundation in childcare, which I use to implement age appropriate activities and techniques for the families I work with.

I really enjoy traveling, but have many places I still want to go. I've driven across the country, been to South Korea, France, Canada, and England. I hope for my next trips to be Ireland and Israel.
I love food and the cultures that surrounds varying dishes. I recently started a blog about my eating experiences (www.thoughtmorselsblog.wordpress.com), and I love watching the Cooking Channel and Travel Channel.

I used to want to work primarily in musical theater, and I received vocal training. Now I just love watching it. I worked at TKTS for 3 years, getting to see a lot of free theater. I still go as often as I can.
I cook and bake, and story time/reading time is definitely a strong suit for me. I consider myself very well versed in Disney films, I have a driver's license, and I would love to help your family out!


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

reading, acting, watching the Travel Channel, walking around New York, working an event.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

acting professionally and regularly and possibly living in LA.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

reading and making up stories. I like to encourage kids to use their imagination and get them talking so they learn to analyze the world around them and think creatively.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.