For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Jennifer L.

Education

Ithaca College,
B.A. Philosophy
09/03 - 05/07

Columbia University,
B.S. in Nursing
09/10 - 09/11

Childcare Experience

Part-Time Nanny
Scarsdale, NY, 03/16 - Present
One boy, age 2

Part-Time Babysitter
Greenwich, CT, 07/17 - 07/17
Three children, ages newborn-11

After-School and Weekend Babysitter
Old Greenwich, CT, 10/97 - 08/06
Two children, ages 10 months and 12 years

Mother's Helper
Norwalk, CT, 02/12 - 04/14
One girl, newborn

Mother's Helper
Greenwich, CT, 01/15 - Present
One girl, newborn

Professional Experience

Registered Nurse
New York, NY, 07/11 - 07/14

Community Development Assistant, Tutor, Teacher
Iganga, Uganda, 01/08 - 04/08

Research Intern
Mossel Bay, South Africa, 04/08 - 08/08

Manager/Event Coordinator
New Rochelle, NY, 07/07 - 07/09

About me

Hello! My name is Jen, and I have an extensive background working with children. I have babysat children of all ages! I am an energetic, outgoing, and fun-loving person.

I have worked as an occasional babysitter for many families, with children ranging in age from newborn to twelve years old. I have experience working with a special needs child with severe learning and developmental delays. Most recently I was a nanny for a boy who is now four years old. We have a very special bond and have grown a lot together. I have learned quite a bit from the little guy!

As a teen, I began working with kids as a mother's helper for a ten month old and four year old. The mother said that from the first time her four year old met me he didn't want anyone else to babysit him, and that held true for the eight consecutive years I worked with them.

Kids have always gravitated to me because in many ways I am truly just a big kid myself! The activities kids enjoy are things I genuinely enjoy doing as well, so I am never faking it when it comes to our interactions and the fun we have together. It brings me so much joy to introduce kids to new activities, getting them excited about learning new things and watching them grow and develop their own individual interests. I believe I connect well wth kids because I communicate and work with them on their level, not as an older person talking down to them.

I have a wide range of interests and a very diverse background that I believe makes me uniquely qualified for childcare. I am passionate about music, travel, science, medicine, and sports.

I have two college degrees, one in philosophy and the other in nursing. I am a licensed registered nurse with experience in several areas, primarily focusing on intensive care. I worked for three years in the neurosurgical intensive care unit at NYU and did a three month externship at St. Luke's in the emergency department, which is a level one trauma center.  I am BLS and ACLS certified.

I would have to say music is my biggest passion. I am currently in school part time at Juilliard studying composition. I have played classical piano for most of my life and began composing over the last few years. I used to play jazz trumpet as well, and dabble in guitar and violin. I have experience teaching piano and guitar to children and adults.

I have traveled throughout Europe, China, and Africa. I lived in Amsterdam for six months during college and traveled to many other countries during that time. Since then I have taken a few long trips to throughout Europe. I also lived and traveled throughout China for six months. After graduating college I spent three months in Uganda working with a nonprofit and living with a Ugandan family. After that I went to South Africa for three months where I did an internship researching great white sharks and cape fur seals. 

Growing up I played many sports and have always been a big sports fan. I was captain of the soccer team in high school, played tennis, did ice skating, skiing, swimming, and martial arts. I enjoy watching and following tennis, football, baseball, basketball, hockey, and soccer.

Thank you for taking the time to read my blurb!  If you have any questions for me please don't hesitate to reach out!


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen

I will be SmartSitting while...

Composing music, playing instruments, reading, spending time with family and friends, going to museums, seeing live music, exploring

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Making a living as a musician, still incorporating working with kids into my career

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Music, music, music! Did I mention music? I believe music is a truly life-enriching hobby and love introducing it into children's lives in any capacity. I also love getting kids excited about science, and always encourage reading of any and all kinds. Sports and outdoor activities are things I like to spend time doing with kids too. In my experience kids respond to actively pursuing activities so if there is anyway we can get hands on with learning I encourage it! Because these are all skills and activities that enhanced my life I love introducing kids to them as well. However, first and foremost I always want to foster a child's individual interests.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.