How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Carley J.

Education

University of North Carolina Wilmington,
B.A. in Spanish
09/11-05/15

Childcare Experience

Full-Time Nanny
Brooklyn, NY, 04/18 - 06/18
One girl, age 8 and two boys, ages 5 and 2

Full-Time Nanny
Brooklyn, NY, 12/16 - 07/17
One girl, age 2 and one boy, newborn

Full-Time Summer Nanny
Charlotte, NC, 05/15 - 09/15
Three girls, ages 5 and 2 year old twins

Professional Experience

Server
New York, NY, 07/18 - Present

Server
Brooklyn, NY, 07/18 - Present

Server, Host, Reservationist
New York, NY, 11/17 - 04/18

Infant Care, Wedgewood Church
Charlotte, NC, 05/16 - 08/16

Girls on the Run Co-Coach
Gastonia, NC, 02/16 - 05/16

Elementary School Spanish Internship
Wilmington, NC, 08/15 - 12/15

About me

I grew up in North Carolina where I spent a lot of time outdoors gardening and landscaping with my mother, camping and hiking in the mountains, and riding horses at my uncle’s barn. I have one younger brother. I went to college on the coast at University of North Carolina Wilmington and I received a Bachelors degree in Spanish. I was abroad in both Ecuador and Spain for a year and a half of college. After graduating, I relocated to NYC in 2016 and have been nannying and working in hospitality ever since.

I began babysitting and nannying as a teen, and nannied all throughout college. I have volunteered in boys and girls clubs helping with homework, and coached a group of 6th grade girls in training for a 5k race, while talking about subjects such as self-esteem and body positivity throughout the season. I have professionally worked with 3 different families as a full-time nanny since graduating college. The first was as a summer nanny alongside a SAHM, caring for 2 year old twins and a 4 year old. Duties included outings, summer classes, meal prep, potty training, nap time and bed time routines. I also stayed with the children while the parents were out of town overnight. I worked for another family of 3 kids starting ages 1, 4 and 6 until ages 4, 7 and 9. For this family I worked as a babysitter and fill-in nanny, and temporarily as a full-time nanny over the course of ~3 years. Duties included transportation around Brooklyn and Manhattan, pickups, drop-offs, meal prep, laundry, outings. Finally, I worked for a family of 2 kids as a full-time nanny ages 1.5-2 and newborn-6 months old. Duties included bottle feeding and sanitizing, nap time/bedtime routines, outings, classes, pickups, domestic and international travel with the family, laundry, grocery shopping, meal prep and extensive home organization.

I am big on expressing feelings and emotions and encourage kids to do so. I think it is so important for kids to feel loved, supported, encouraged and have someone to look up to or talk to. I strive to be a positive, open, and calming source of support for the children I care for.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Twins

I will be SmartSitting while...

eating healthy foods, gardening/growing houseplants, rock climbing, watching movies, walking around the city, spending time with friends, rollerskating, tossing a frisbee, making art, doing FX makeup, deep cleaning and organizing spaces, reading, relaxing and taking care of my two cats!

In 5 years, I hope to be...

making short films, screen printing my own t shirts, doing FX makeup, and I hope to have goats and farm animals one day.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love doing arts and crafts - I grew up making all kinds of art and enjoy sharing creativity with kids. I love being outdoors so playing games and sports outside is something I like to do with the children I work with. I love swimming, gardening and growing things, reading, and caring for animals. I think talking about feelings and emotions in ways kids can understand and encouraging them to do so is another important part of childcare.


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.